Sweet Potato Soup with Fetta and Za’atar Oil

So I had some za’atar spice mix left over from the last batch that I made. Having made za’atar pita bread, za’atar popcorn, chickpea salad and Spontaneous Tomato’s za’atar chickpeas, I went googling to bring my current za’atar journey to an end. For now.

Sweet potato; yum. Fetta; love. Za’atar oil; perfect.

As this was the first time I had ever cooked this recipe, I didn’t alter it at all. And now that I have cooked and eaten it? I don’t think I would ever alter it!

Image

Recipe by Lauren Shockey, found on the Food52 website.

Serves 6 to 8

Ingredients

  • ¼ cup plus 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons za’atar*
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1 onion (peeled and diced)
  • 1 carrot (peeled and diced)
  • 1 leek (white part only, rinsed thoroughly and diced)
  • 5 medium sweet potatoes (peeled and cut into 1 inch cubes)
  • 6 cups water
  • 2 cups chicken stock
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 tablespoon salt
  • ¼ cup feta cheese

Method

  1. In a small pot, combine ¼ cup olive oil and the za’atar. Cook over medium heat until hot, but take care not to burn the za’atar. Set aside for at least one hour to cool and infuse.
  2. In a large pot, heat the butter and remaining olive oil over medium high heat. When the butter has melted, add the onion, carrot, and leek, and cook until softened, about five minutes. Add the sweet potato cubes and sauté for another minute. Add the water, stock, and bay leaf, and bring to a boil. Once the soup begins to boil, lower to a simmer and cook for 30 minutes. Check to make sure the sweet potatoes are completely soft. If not, continue cooking until they are.
  3. Remove the bay leaf and puree the soup using a regular or immersion blender. Check the seasoning and add the salt (you may need more or less depending on what type of stock you used). Ladle out the soup into individual bowls. Crumble some feta into each bowl, and drizzle each bowl with some of the za’atar oil.

* To make za’atar from scratch, combine 4 teaspoons dried thyme (or 4 tablespoons fresh, oven-dried thyme), 2 teaspoons sumac, 1 tablespoon lightly toasted sesame seeds and 1/4 teaspoon fine sea salt and grind using a mortar and pestle. Further historical info and possible substitutions can be found here.

About Food Daydreaming

I follow new recipes perfectly the first couple of times and then I pull them apart and put them back together my way. My biggest pet peeve is when I follow a recipe to a tee and then it doesn't turn out the way it should... I end up growling in my kitchen and that's just not right ;)

8 responses to “Sweet Potato Soup with Fetta and Za’atar Oil

  1. This is an incredible soup recipe. I love every ingredient you put in and I can tell the topping really bumped it up a notch or two! I do have a really good sweet potato soup recipe, but this one is even better…so, I’m going to make it and replace the one I have. Thanks! 🙂

    • You are more than welcome! This was a very quick and easy soup to make, especially if you have an immersion blender. I think the fetta will be a constant but the oil can always be changed. I’ve made it again since I posted it, it’s that good 🙂

      • Wow. I really have to make it. I do have an immersion blender (I couldn’t live without it with all the soups I make) I can see how the feta would flavor this so nicely and without melting into a stringy mess. 🙂 I just love that about feta. I just responded to your Kreativ Blogger nomination….I thought I did! But, when I just saw the comment again, no reply! Apologies. Thank you again.

  2. This looks wonderful! I’ve made pureed pumpkin soup (and I made the same discovery as you– that it’s amazing with feta cheese), but I don’t think I’ve ever made sweet potato soup. I’ll have to try this when autumn rolls around.

  3. Pingback: Sweet Potato, Carrot, Leek and Pumpkin Soup | Daily Gluttony

  4. My mouth is literally watering!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Food Daydreaming on WordPress.com
