Fried Goat’s Cheese and Fig Salad with Raspberry Balsamic Glaze

This salad’s been on the backburner for a while now, but I found some lovely fresh figs yesterday at a new deli that opened up near me.

Then I spent a nice long time perusing the deli’s shelves for any manner of new cheeses, oils, dressings, I could go on and on here… I know it’s important to support local business and farmers and such, but when your local industry is just not producing what you want, you have to buy imported.

I’ve been looking for raspberry balsamic glaze for quite a while now, so when I managed to find it, imported of course, along with the figs, I skipped straight to the cheese section for some goat’s cheese.

Image

And seeing as how there’s a few days left in July, which is soft goat’s cheese month according to Fromage Homage, I’m going to submit this to the Cheese Please! recipe blog challenge.

Fromage Homage

Fried Goat’s Cheese and Fig Salad with Raspberry Balsamic Glaze

Ingredients

  • 150g soft goat’s cheese
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup panko breadcrumbs
  • 1 egg (lightly beaten)
  • 150g baby spinach (or rocket)
  • 4 figs (fresh, stems cut off, cut into quarters)
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 4 tablespoons raspberry balsamic glaze*
  • Vegetable oil for deep-frying

Method

  1. Set up three bowls, one containing the flour, another the egg and a third with the panko breadcrumbs.
  2. Using a sharp knife that’s been lightly greased with oil, cut the goat’s cheese into 12 segments.
  3. Roll each segment into a ball and then flatten gently.
  4. Working with one piece of cheese at a time, coat the cheese in the flour, dip in the egg and then cover with the panko breadcrumbs.
  5. Place the prepared cheese pieces on a plate or sheet pan and refrigerate for 20 minutes.
  6. While the cheese is chilling, toss the baby spinach or rocket with olive oil and season with salt and pepper. Divide among two bowls and top with the fresh figs.
  7. Fill a heavy-based frying pan with enough vegetable oil to fry the cheese pieces and heat over medium heat (the oil should be ready when a few panko breadcrumbs sizzle and turn golden in 10 seconds).
  8. Working in two to three batches, add the crumbed cheese to oil and fry for approximately two minutes on each side, or until golden. Remove cooked cheese with a slotted spoon and drain on paper towels.
  9. Top the salad with the fried goat’s cheese, drizzle with the raspberry balsamic glaze and serve.

* If you can’t find raspberry balsamic glaze, you can make your own balsamic glaze. In a small saucepan over low heat, combine ¼ cup of balsamic vinegar and 2 tablespoons of sugar (both brown and white sugar work well). Stir for about 3 minutes or until the sugar dissolves and has become syrupy. Allow to cool before adding it to the salad.

About Food Daydreaming

I follow new recipes perfectly the first couple of times and then I pull them apart and put them back together my way. My biggest pet peeve is when I follow a recipe to a tee and then it doesn't turn out the way it should... I end up growling in my kitchen and that's just not right ;)

19 responses to “Fried Goat’s Cheese and Fig Salad with Raspberry Balsamic Glaze

  1. Yummy! I like the mix of textures, what with the soft figs and the fried goat’s cheese! ^_^

  2. Looks delicious! Fig’s and cheese are always a great combination and I’ll bet the vinegar sets it off nicely. I’ve had camembert in breadcrumbs but not goat’s cheese but sounds like it’s definitely worth a try. Yum! Thanks for your entry into July’s Cheese, Please! Challenge.

    • I had crumbed goat’s cheese for the first time at Alla Wolf-Tasker’s Lake House and it was amazing. Can’t quite remember what it was paired with though, I just remember thinking it would go well with figs. I hate deep-frying food but these were easy to do and came up great even with a little oil. Can’t wait to find out what the August cheese is 🙂

  3. Pingback: July’s Cheese, Please! – soft goat’s cheese | Fromage Homage

  4. Never thought to fry goat cheese. Great idea. Goat cheese is the best!

  5. This looks so good. I love figs and can see what a great combination with the goat cheese they would be! 🙂 I think the crispy goat cheese would be fantastic.

  6. Loving the idea of the breaded goats cheese, which I can get a really nice roll of. Perfect with those figs, that I haven’t seen in the shops here as yet. Hmm, nectarines would be good.

  7. thehomesliceblog

    This looks delish! I love the combination of figs & soft cheese, yum!

  8. ohlidia

    Those little parcels of fried goat cheese look perfect!! I just love figs and this is definitely a dish I would LOVE! And I’m with you on buying local if it’s what I want, but turn to “imported” when I need to.

  9. Pingback: July’s Cheese, Please! Recipe Round Up – Soft Goat’s Cheese | Fromage Homage

  10. Pingback: Awards And Thank You and An Apology! | apuginthekitchen

  11. That’s looks lovely! I have just found your blog via ohlidia and I will definitely be reading more! Happy new year 🎉🎉

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Food Daydreaming on WordPress.com
