Goat’s Cheese Ravioli with Peas and Sage Butter (the cheat’s way) – Pasta is my Lifelong Friend!

I promise I’ll lay off the goat’s cheese posts for a while after this one…

I live within walking distance of the ‘little Italy’ of my city. This means I have access to an assortment of restaurants, delis and specialty stores. Not to mention a plethora of ice creameries and gelaterias.

Because of this, I tend to be able to cheat quite a bit when it comes to certain Italian foods. If I want fresh ravioli I don’t have to wait until I have time to make it… I can simply walk to the cute little store and see what fillings they have on offer that day.

I tend to keep my sauces for ravioli fairly simple, so that flavour wise, the delicate filling of the ravioli is still the star of the dish.

So when I saw that they had goat’s cheese ravioli, I instantly thought of sage, and you can’t have a beautiful sage-infused sauce without butter… And don’t forget the peas!

Goat’s Cheese Ravioli with Peas and Sage Butter (the cheat’s way)

Image

Ingredients

  • 500g goat’s cheese ravioli (fresh if possible)
  • 80g unsalted butter
  • 8 to 10 fresh sage leaves
  • 250g peas (if fresh, shelled; if frozen, blanched and refreshed)
  • 80g parmesan (finely grated)
  • Handful of rocket to serve

Method

  1. Cook the ravioli according to the packet instruction. (If you have fresh, non-packaged ravioli, remember to simmer not boil the pasta or they may split.)
  2. In a frypan over medium heat, melt the butter and continue to heat until it has turned a golden colour.
  3. Add the sage leaves and move them gently through the butter, allowing them to sizzle for a few seconds.
  4. Add the peas and stir to combine. Season with salt and pepper if you are so inclined.
  5. Drain the ravioli when cooked and return to the pot. Pour the sage butter over the top (including the pieces of sage) and toss to coat the ravioli.
  6. Serve with grated parmesan cheese and some fresh rocket.
About Food Daydreaming

I follow new recipes perfectly the first couple of times and then I pull them apart and put them back together my way. My biggest pet peeve is when I follow a recipe to a tee and then it doesn't turn out the way it should... I end up growling in my kitchen and that's just not right ;)

9 responses to “Goat’s Cheese Ravioli with Peas and Sage Butter (the cheat’s way) – Pasta is my Lifelong Friend!

  1. This looks soooo good!! I LOVE goat cheese. I will definitely be giving this a try, thanks for the idea!

  2. Oh my gosh…seriously, you do not have to lay off the goat cheese recipes! Especially if you have something like this to share! I love this. 🙂

  3. Great post. Wish we had such a deli around the corner or maybe not if I think of the hips…..

    • I know that I am very lucky to have access to these kinds of shops. I’m still quite a picky eater, so it actually helps expand my ‘palate’. It’s the cheese, not the pasta, that will lead to the hips issue 🙂

  4. ohlidia

    …and summer is the best time to cheat, no? Beautiful!

  5. That looks incredibly good! I love goats cheese.

  6. Pingback: Pasta with Brown Butter Sauce & Roasted Figs | blah blah birds

  7. Pingback: Ravioli with Browned Sage Butter | nouveaunomnoms

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Food Daydreaming on WordPress.com
