Raspberry Frozen Yogurt – Not Quite Jamie Style

Firstly, I’m a little jealous of all these ice cream recipes and concoctions suddenly flying around. Yes, I know America celebrates ice cream month in July, but you know what? July is freezing for some parts of the world.

But I never give up my ice cream. Even in the middle of winter, when I eat it sitting in front of the heater. Also, my freezer is full and there’s no room to chill my ice cream bowl…

Secondly, this was Jamie Oliver’s dessert, or the third course, in this particular 30-Minute Meal. This may or may not be part of the reason why I chose to try out this three-course meal…

As per usual, some changes were made. Jamie made this with frozen mangos, which I was unable to find. He also used natural yogurt, which would have made this raspberry version extremely tart.

A very tasty and healthier version of ice cream… but just you wait until I clean out my freezer…

And so my Jamie Oliver 30-Minute, three-course meal of Tuscan Bread Salad, Summer Vegetarian Lasagne and Frozen Yogurt dessert is complete. In 47 minutes…

Raspberry Frozen Yogurt

Image

Ingredients

  • 500g frozen raspberries
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 250g vanilla yogurt*
  • Juice from half a lime**
  • 4 leaves of mint
  • 6 mini waffle cones
  • Dark chocolate (finely grated) (optional)

Method

  1. Put the frozen raspberries in a food processor and pulse until they start to break down.
  2. Add the yogurt, lime juice, honey and mint and continue to pulse until it reaches a smooth consistency.
  3. If using immediately, scoop onto a cone or a bowl and grate some chocolate over the top. Otherwise, put it in a container and store it in the freezer.

* If you find frozen mangos, or you decide to use a different kind of frozen fruit that is sweet, use natural yogurt instead of vanilla yogurt.

** If you are making this frozen yogurt with frozen fruits that are sweet, you may need to use the juice of an entire lime.

About Food Daydreaming

I follow new recipes perfectly the first couple of times and then I pull them apart and put them back together my way. My biggest pet peeve is when I follow a recipe to a tee and then it doesn't turn out the way it should... I end up growling in my kitchen and that's just not right ;)

7 responses to “Raspberry Frozen Yogurt – Not Quite Jamie Style

  1. Pingback: DiPuggo's Handmade Gelato Ice Cream | Norpro Ice Pop Maker

  2. I can relate to the freezing part, but sometimes I actually scarfing ice cream while wearing gloves and beanie. This looks delicious!

  3. Ha, I think my worst moment was last winter when I was wrapped in a blanket and sitting in front of the heater with the wind rattling the windows and enjoying my bowl of ice cream 🙂

  4. That looks absolutely delicious!

  5. Ok this looks pretty tasty!!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Food Daydreaming on WordPress.com
