Skillet Cornbread – A Touch of the South to go with my Soup

The one thing I missed out on eating while we travelled around America was cornbread. Well, more like I was to full to try some… I think I had some hush puppies though, that sort of counts, right?

Anyway… Since the broccoli-cheddar soup I was making was inspired from my American travels, I decided to look up and try out a cornbread recipe to go with it.

Getting the soup right was my priority, so I went for one of the quickest and easiest options, and honestly, the first option that popped up on my browser, so this may or may not be a ‘true’ cornbread.

Maybe I’ll try a ‘proper’ cornbread next time, baked in the oven and with no corn kernels, but either way, it was a great accompaniment to my soup.

Skillet Cornbread

Image

Recipe from Taste.com.au

Ingredients

  • ½ tablespoon olive oil
  • 115g plain flour
  • 140g instant polenta (cornmeal)
  • 1 tablsepoon caster sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 125ml buttermilk
  • 125ml chicken stock
  • 50g butter (melted)
  • 20g butter (extra, melted)
  • 1 egg (lightly whisked)
  • 310g can corn kernels (drained; or corn kernels from 2 to 3 fresh corn cobs)

Method

  1. Preheat a 25cm (base measurement) heavy skillet or frying pan over medium heat. Add the oil.
  2. Combine the flour, polenta, sugar, baking powder and salt in a large bowl. Make a well in the centre and pour in the buttermilk, stock and butter. Add the egg and corn and stir until just combined.
  3. Pour the mixture over the base of the skillet and spread to the edges. Reduce heat to low. Cover and cook for 20-25 minutes or until cooked through and set.
  4. Preheat grill on medium-high. Drizzle the cornbread with extra butter. Cook under grill for 1-2 minutes or until golden. Set aside for 5 minutes to cool slightly.
  5. Cut into wedges and serve.
About Food Daydreaming

I follow new recipes perfectly the first couple of times and then I pull them apart and put them back together my way. My biggest pet peeve is when I follow a recipe to a tee and then it doesn't turn out the way it should... I end up growling in my kitchen and that's just not right ;)

10 responses to “Skillet Cornbread – A Touch of the South to go with my Soup

  1. This is perfect with the soup. Love skillet cornbread!

  2. Don’t know about the kernels as I’ve never had the real thing either. Curious about it. Especially as I’m so into non yeast breads. The site you’ve used is Australian so that might be a clue. Loving the chicken stock with the buttermilk. That I don’t remember seeing in other recipes. And I looked at quite a few, not realising that cornmeal is in fact polenta 🙂 Oucha.

    • Yeah, it took me a while too to realise that polenta and cornmeal are the same thing! And I’m with you on the yeast thing, I really dislike cooking with it and it kind of stinks… either way, the cornbread turned out really well and was great with the soup.

  3. ohlidia

    Love cornbread. Yours looks just beautiful!

  4. This cornbread looks amazing! Will have to give it a try. Thanks for sharing the recipe 🙂

  5. This looks great. We call it “mieliebrood” in Afrikaans. My mother converted the oven bread recipe to a microwave version with cheese added and it works like a charm.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Food Daydreaming on WordPress.com
