Affogato – Coffee Drink or Dessert?

Happy coffee day everyone! For those of you who don’t know, an affagato is a type of coffee drink, and is made by pouring a shot of espresso over vanilla ice cream.

Image

Sounds like an ice coffee? Well yes, but it’s not. Nothing is blended, it is not smooth, although it will eventually melt… it’s kind of like a grown up iced coffee, made from REAL coffee that slowly seeps into the vanilla ice ream. The coffee snob in me will rear up and slap you if you even consider making this with instant coffee…

It’s probably the combination of the coffee and the ice cream that lead most people to serve an affogato as dessert, that way, you don’t have to serve the coffee separately. And serving martini glasses full of creamy ice cream with a shot of espresso on the side for guests to pour over themselves is kind of pretty…

Traditionally, an affogato is just that, espresso and vanilla ice cream. However, the variations are endless. You can use flavoured coffee, you can add hazelnuts or slivered almonds to the ice cream, you can even use a different flavour of ice cream – white chocolate gelato actually works quite well. The real fun comes though when you turn this into an adult-only dessert, which you would then serve with an additional shot glass of amaretto, frangelico or cognac.

Image

Traditional Affogato

Makes 1

Ingredients

  • 1 to 2 scoops vanilla ice cream
  • 1 shot of espresso (30 mls)

Method

  1. Place the scoops of ice cream into a martini glass, regular glass or bowl.
  2. Brew the espresso.
  3. Pour the espresso while it is still hot over the ice cream.
  4. Grab a spoon and enjoy.
About Food Daydreaming

I follow new recipes perfectly the first couple of times and then I pull them apart and put them back together my way. My biggest pet peeve is when I follow a recipe to a tee and then it doesn't turn out the way it should... I end up growling in my kitchen and that's just not right ;)

17 responses to “Affogato – Coffee Drink or Dessert?

  1. Looks pretty! My favourite gelato shop has an “affogato project” going, so I end up having way more late night coffee than I should. 🙂

  2. thehomesliceblog

    Yum – love affogato in the winter with sliced stem ginger…would it be wrong to have it for breakfast right now?!

  3. Janet Rörschåch

    HA! You’d have to catch me first before you could slap me. 😉 I once loved this as an elegant, yet easy dessert. Now that I am off coffee and dairy, no more. But, in my imagination, I can smell the luscious coffee, and I can taste the icy coolness with that wonderful coffee,punch. Thank goodness for memory.

    • Oh, for that kind of coffee infringement, I would definitely catch you! I prefer it as a coffee drink than a dessert. I hope your memory helps you through, as there are few things better than the smell of freshly brewed coffee!

  4. Seriously? I now know how to reward myself on cold winter days!

  5. I’ve only ever had this once in the Basque Country, late after leaving one bar before heading to another. That’s actually one of the reasons why they serve them, so you can line your stomach with food and get a hit from the coffee. Then you’re ready to keep going! And that means clubbing until about breakfast time if you’re living there! Sheeze, too old for that lifestyle 🙂

    • I’ve never heard of them being served for that reason before, but yep, that would do it! You may think you are too old for that lifestyle, but you are never to old to appreciate an affogato…

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Food Daydreaming on WordPress.com
