Sweet Potato and Goat’s Cheese Pizza

Knife, food processor or mandolin?

Frankly, the mandolin, or v-slicer, is not as easy to use as it appears, and well, it’s potentially very, very dangerous. If you have the correct knife and decent knife skills, you probably wouldn’t look for any other vegetable slicing method.

While I am pretty good wielding a knife, I have to say that I do love my new food processor. The slicing disk attachment sliced my sweet potatoes and onions in thirty seconds.

But is it worth the extra dishes?

Happy pizza month everyone!

Image

Sweet Potato and Goat’s Cheese Pizza

Recipe makes two 30cm pizzas. Recipe adapted from Australian Good Taste, April 2012

Ingredients

  • 2 teaspoons dried yeast
  • 1 teaspoon caster sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 250ml warm water
  • 375g all-purpose flour
  • 2 garlic cloves (minced)
  • 60ml extra virgin olive oil
  • 460g sweet potato (peeled and thinly sliced)
  • 1 small red onion (halved and thinly sliced)
  • 1 tablespoon fresh rosemary (finely chopped)
  • ¼ cup pine nuts
  • 100g mozzarella (grated)
  • 120g soft goat’s cheese (crumbled)
  • 150g rocket
  • 1 ½ fresh lemon juice

Method

  1. In a bowl, combine the yeast, sugar and warm water. Mix, cover and set aside in a warm spot for about ten minutes, or until the mixture is frothy.
  2. Sift the flour and the salt into a separate bowl. Add the yeast mixture and mix to combine into a dough.
  3. Turn the dough out onto a floured surface and knead for about ten minutes, or until it’s smooth and elastic.
  4. Place the dough in a large, lightly oiled bowl and turn once to coat the dough in oil. Cover with cling wrap and set aside in a warm spot for 1 hour, or until the dough has doubled in size.
  5. Preheat oven to 240°C.
  6. Lightly grease two oven trays.
  7. Turn the dough out again onto a lightly floured surface and knead for a couple of minutes until smooth.
  8. Separate the dough into two equal portions and roll each portion into rounds or rectangles.
  9. Combine the garlic and 3 teaspoons of oil and brush over the two pizza bases.
  10. Toss the sweet potato, onion, rosemary and 3 teaspoons of oil until combined and spread evenly over the pizza bases.
  11. Scatter each pizza base evenly with pine nuts, mozzarella and goat’s cheese.
  12. Bake for 15 minutes, or until the sweet potato is tender and the pizza base is crisp.
  13. Place the rocket, lemon juice and remaining oil in a bowl and toss to combine. Scatter over the cooked pizza and serve.
About Food Daydreaming

I follow new recipes perfectly the first couple of times and then I pull them apart and put them back together my way. My biggest pet peeve is when I follow a recipe to a tee and then it doesn't turn out the way it should... I end up growling in my kitchen and that's just not right ;)

13 responses to “Sweet Potato and Goat’s Cheese Pizza

  1. I’m with you on the knife vs mandolin question. But, of course I’ve used mandolin and food processor many times; they’re still very useful in the kitchen. And your pizza looks absolutely delish! Never paired sweet potatoes with goat cheese before, gotta try! Thanks for the recipe!

  2. Sweet potatoes and goat’s cheese – gorgeous combination! Mmmm…

  3. I’m impressed you made the dough! I’m still staring at packets of yeast and wondering if I should buy them or not. Really must make more of an effort. Anyway, like the others I’m curious about the combination of sweet potato and goats’ cheese. Partly as I can buy really nice white fleshed sweet potatoes, that are less sweet.

    • I realised that, apart from the smell of yeast, what annoys me is when recipes call for packets of yeast, which differ from country to country! So when I find recipes that have teaspoon or gram measurements, I know it won’t go haywire because of too much or too little yeast. It’s getting easier to work with, I made soft potato buns the other day! Did you get those cheeses yet??

  4. ohlidia

    Gorgeous-looking pizza!

  5. I haven’t tried the slicing attachment on my food processor yet, is it better than a knife? Your photo of the finished pizza has me hungry at 7am here!

    • Seriously, it took 30 seconds with the food processor! Everything was cut thinly and perfectly evenly. It wasn’t necessarily better, but it was a hell of a lot faster. Hope you had a nice breakfast and that you’re not hungry anymore 🙂

  6. Reblogged this on food thoughts to share and commented:
    Easy comfort food with an elegant twist

  7. Pingback: End of the Year Awards | Sweet Baked Life

  8. Pingback: Mushroom, Sage and Chilli Pizza – A Cheat’s Pizza for a Friday Night | Food Daydreaming

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Food Daydreaming on WordPress.com
