Thai Coconut Sticky Rice and Mango – Yellow Velvet on Cloud

It wasn’t until I actually started cooking for myself on a daily basis that I realised that I actually enjoyed bringing together a bunch of ingredients and creating a delicious dinner from them. It was also around that time that I realised I had very little culinary knowledge; after all, you only know what you grow up with.

Sure, I always knew there was a difference between China and Thailand, but the culinary differences did not actually sink in until I was in my late teens. That was when I was first introduced to the delectable delight that is Thai food. There is nothing better than scooping up coconut rice drowned in red curry with a piece of roti bread, all warm and cosy while a thunderstorm rages on outside.

So when the opportunity arose to participate in a cooking class at Pum’s Thai Restaurant and Cooking School, I dragged my sister along for the unique experience of cooking traditional Thai food outside in the sweltering Phuket heat.

Pum and her lovely group of singing chefs offer a unique cooking course, so if you are ever in Phuket, make sure you at least visit the restaurant for a delicious dinner, and don’t leave without having Thai coconut sticky rice and mango for dessert, or as Pum calls it, yellow velvet on cloud.

Image

Thai Coconut Sticky Rice and Mango

Recipe from Pum’s Lazy Thai Cuisine.

Serves 2

Ingredients

  • 1 ripe yellow mango
  • 8 tablespoons coconut milk
  • 4 tablespoons sugar
  • 4 pinches of salt
  • 2 handfuls* of sticky rice**

Method

  1. Prepare the mango by peeling and removing the fruit from the stone. Slice and set aside.
  2. Place the coconut milk, sugar and salt in a saucepan over low heat and stir until the sugar has dissolved.
  3. Remove the coconut mixture from the heat and combine with the sticky rice. When mixed well, serve alongside the mango and garnish with a little extra coconut milk.

* I’ve always wondered why published recipes call for handfuls of some ingredients, and I figured someone might pull me up on it here for using it as a measurement, so I googled… oh how I love Google! Anyhow… According to David Lebovitz, it means that the ‘exact quantity’ of that particular ingredient ‘isn’t important’. I cooked up about a cup and half of raw sticky rice as I was also using some for dinner, so I just made sure I left a couple of ‘handfuls’ for this dessert. Mr Lebovitz’s full blog post on the meaning of a handful can be found here.

** When it comes to cooking sticky rice, I recommend following the instructions on the packet. Or, you can follow Pum’s lazy style of cooking sticky rice:

Clean the sticky rice and bring some water to the boil. Simmer the sticky rice for about 10 minutes and then continue to steam the rice for a further 25-30 minutes.

If you can’t find sticky rice, Pum suggests that you soak Arborio rice for about 10 minutes and then steam for 25 to 30 minutes.

About Food Daydreaming

I follow new recipes perfectly the first couple of times and then I pull them apart and put them back together my way. My biggest pet peeve is when I follow a recipe to a tee and then it doesn't turn out the way it should... I end up growling in my kitchen and that's just not right ;)

4 responses to “Thai Coconut Sticky Rice and Mango – Yellow Velvet on Cloud

  1. LOVE sticky rice and mango!

  2. One of my favorites and I have never made it for myself. Just found some wonderful mangoes two days ago, I have rice and I even have coconut milk…I’m making some for us tonight. Good timing to see your post today. 🙂

  3. This is one of my favorite desserts! Yum!!

  4. Yum! I love Thai food and always have to order a Mango Sticky Rice for dessert. Your dish looks delicious! Bookmarking this recipe–thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Food Daydreaming on WordPress.com
