Banoffee Pie – The not Terrible at all Pie

I have to admit that the first time I heard of banoffee pie was while I was watching Love Actually. The odd sounding word, which is apparently a portmanteau of banana and toffee, got stuck in my head until I had to research what the hell this apparently ‘terrible’ pie was.

Sweet, buttery biscuit crumb base or sweet pastry base… yes, yes, yes to both.

Toffee or caramel… I love toffee AND caramel.

Banana… Bananas are good.

Sweetened whipped cream… I can take it or leave it.

Chocolate shavings… Oh hell yes!

Um, what exactly is so terrible about this pie? Provided you like all the above mentioned ingredients, absolutely nothing at all!

Enjoy this no-cook version of Banoffee Pie while I run along to experiment with a baked version… I’ll keep you posted…

Image

Ingredients

  • 250g of your favourite plain biscuits for biscuit base (such as Granita, Marie or digestive biscuits)
  • 1 teaspoon brown sugar
  • 125g butter (melted)
  • 300ml whipping thickened cream
  • 2 tablespoons white sugar
  • 380g can Nestle Caramel Top ‘n’ Fill (or dolce de leche)
  • 2 bananas (thinly sliced)*
  • 50g dark chocolate (grated)

Method

  1. Using a food processor, or a plastic bag and a rolling pin, process the biscuits until fine crumbs are formed.
  2. Add the brown sugar and the melted butter and process or stir until well combined.
  3. Lightly grease a 23cm tart tin with a removable base, and then press the biscuit mixture evenly over the base and sides of the tin.
  4. Chill for at least 1 hour.
  5. Using an electric mixer, beat the thickened cream and white sugar together in a bowl until soft peaks form. Set aside for the moment.
  6. Remove the biscuit base from the tart tin and place onto a serving platter.
  7. Gently spread the caramel over the base evenly. Arrange the banana slices in a single layer on top of the caramel.
  8. Top with dollops of whipped cream and sprinkle with chocolate shavings. Serve.

* Remember to not slice the bananas too early as they will turn brown and look unappealing. One the biscuit base has been cooling for an hour and is holding together well, the pie does not take long to put together, so don’t sacrifice your bananas!

About Food Daydreaming

I follow new recipes perfectly the first couple of times and then I pull them apart and put them back together my way. My biggest pet peeve is when I follow a recipe to a tee and then it doesn't turn out the way it should... I end up growling in my kitchen and that's just not right ;)

17 responses to “Banoffee Pie – The not Terrible at all Pie

  1. I’ve heard of this pie but never tried it before. I like everything on the ingredient list. The pie sounds like it’s very rich and decadent. Love that there is no baking involved.

  2. I’ve tried this pie once, where it was all sort of mushed together and wasn’t taken by it.
    Your presentation is beautiful and I’m sure the flavors shine when the ingredients are arranged like this. You certainly changed my opinion! 🙂

  3. Heard about it, never had it. Looks really good! I’m going to have to try it one of these days. Looking forward to the baked version.

  4. I didn’t have a slice until I was in Dublin! Such a shame to wait so long, but I kept putting it off every time I was somewhere in England. Glad you made it! It’s definitely a showstopper!

  5. I’ve had the ice cream version. Not too fond of ripe bananas….but your pie looks delish.

  6. I’ve never tried this but your description just sounds so tasty! It looks wonderful!

  7. Another good ‘ol English dessert, from the ’70’s. Yet, it’s something I don’t remember having. I’m sure it’s perfectly delicious made the right way.

    • It’s funny how desserts especially have a way of finding their way in and out of favour. Fashionable or not, they knew what they were doing in the 70s when they paired caramel and bananas 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Food Daydreaming on WordPress.com
