Maggie Beer’s Walnut Bread

Making yeast bread still freaks me out. It’s smelly and so many tiny little things could or could not happen that result in not necessarily a failure, but not exactly a success either…

This time though, following a recipe by the delightfully cute Maggie Beer, I baked beautiful bread that rose perfectly and tasted pretty good.

In fact, it tasted so good, still warm and slathered in butter, that I knew I had a great base for my blue cheese-inspired crostini… But more on that soon…

Image

 

Walnut Bread

Recipe by Maggie Beer, as found in her book, Maggie’s Christmas.

Ingredients

  • 250g walnuts
  • 180ml full-cream milk + 2 tablespoons extra
  • 15g fresh yeast (or 1 x 7g sachet or 1½ teaspoon  dried yeast)
  • ½ teaspoon caster sugar
  • 2 tablespoons warm water
  • 200g plain flour (plus extra for dusting)
  • 100g wholemeal plain flour
  • 50g rye flour
  • 3 egg yolks
  • 1 egg white
  • 2 tablespoons walnut oil (plus extra for greasing)

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 200C fan-forced (220C conventional). To make the walnut bread, roast the walnuts on a baking tray for 6 to 8 minutes or until light golden, checking them frequently to make sure that they don’t burn. Wrap the walnuts in a clean tea towel, then rub to remove the skins. Set aside to cool.
  2. Heat 180ml milk in a small heavy-based saucepan until lukewarm, then set aside.
  3. Mix the yeast, caster sugar and warm water in a small bowl, stirring to form a paste, then leave for 10 minutes or until foamy.
  4. Combine the flours with 2 teaspoons salt in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with a dough hook. Whisk the egg yolks in a small bowl, then stir in the walnut oil. Pour the egg yolk mixture into the centre of the flour mixture, and then add the yeast mixture.
  5. With the mixer on low speed, slowly add the warm milk, mixing until it is incorporated and a soft dough forms. Add the walnuts.
  6. Turn the dough out onto a lightly floured workbench and knead for 5 minutes. Brush the mixing bowl with a little more walnut oil and return the dough, rolling it around the bowl to coat with the oil. Place a piece of plastic film loosely over the surface of the dough, then set aside for 2 hours or until the dough has doubled in size.
  7. Turn the dough out onto a floured workbench and knead for a minute or two, then shape into two 23cm x 10cm logs. Leave to rise again on a baking tray dusted with flour for 10 – 15 minutes.
  8. Preheat the oven to 200C fan-forced (220C conventional).
  9. Whisk together the egg white and 2 tablespoons milk and then brush over the surface of the dough.
  10. Bake the bread for 10 minutes, then reduce the oven temperature at 180C fan-forced (200C conventional) an bake for another 15 minutes or until the loaves are golden brown and the bases sound hollow when tapped.
  11. Turn out onto a wire rack to cool.

 

About Food Daydreaming

I follow new recipes perfectly the first couple of times and then I pull them apart and put them back together my way. My biggest pet peeve is when I follow a recipe to a tee and then it doesn't turn out the way it should... I end up growling in my kitchen and that's just not right ;)

13 responses to “Maggie Beer’s Walnut Bread

  1. It looks beautiful. I have never baked with yeast but it is something I am gaining courage to try. 🙂 I would be so happy if it turned out looking as lovely as yours!

    • Thank you, you are very sweet! I remember the first time I made yeast bread… it took about a year before I tried again… but I hope you give it a go because when they work, they are just yummy!

  2. Cea

    Looks lovely, although I clicked on the recipe looking for the beer. You think it would taste as good if you didn’t roast the walnuts first?

    • Ha, apologies for the missing beer, but there’s not much I can do about Miss Maggie’s name 🙂 Now, about roasting the walnuts, according to Maggie Beer: ‘When making any bread with walnuts in it, never omit the step of roasting them, as these nuts are almost always rancid when sold shelled’. Hope this helps!

  3. As soon as I saw this, I thought ‘that would go great with blue cheese’! Looks delicious. Maybe with a sliver of pear too. Yum yum.

  4. What a gorgeous loaf, it looks wonderful. Nothing like homemade bread!!

  5. Gorgeous bread, and I’m looking forward to hearing about the crostini! 🙂

  6. After my initial experience with yeast breads, using an enriched dough, I should be put off! No chance. Besides, I happen to like the smell of yeast, which reminds me of linseed oil used in oil painting. Not that I’ve dabbled much in oils. As for bread making, there are so many to choose from – which one?!

  7. Pingback: Caramelised Pear and Blue Cheese Crostini | Food Daydreaming

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Food Daydreaming on WordPress.com
