Caramelised Pear and Blue Cheese Crostini

For the last month, I have researched one thing and one thing only – blue cheese. For the last 26 days, my nose has had an almost permanent wrinkle of distaste and apprehension as I read about different kinds of blue cheese and watched people ruin beautiful food by adding such an overwhelmingly flavoured, smelling and looking cheese.

I know I am in the minority, but I make no apologies for my palate; blue cheese and I will never be friends.

With the help of a walnut bread recipe by the charming Maggie Beer and some caramelised fruit, I did manage to find a barely palatable blue cheese recipe that I could present to the Queen of Cheese, Ms Fromage Homage, and her Cheese, Please! blog challenge.

Image

Yep, I had a nibble; nope, it’s not something I care to eat again. However, I was assured that if blue cheese if your thing, these little crostini are oozy, gooey and full of flavour.

So, if you like blue cheese, have at it. But if you too feel that your tastes are better suited to more palate-friendly crostini, swap out the blue cheese for some brie, the pears for some apples and enjoy!

A postscript is needed here I think because I only just discovered this and had to share… Did you know that crostini, which roughly translates to ‘little crusts’, is actually the plural of crostino?

Caramelised Pear and Blue Cheese Crostini

  • Servings: makes 12 crostini
  • Print

Blue Cheese Pear Crostini

Ingredients

  • 30g unsalted butter
  • 55g brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 5 firm but ripe beurre bosc pears (peeled, cored and diced)
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1 tablespoon white balsamic or white wine vinegar
  • 1 small loaf of walnut bread (sliced into 12 thin slices)
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil to drizzle
  • 120g your favourite blue cheese

Method

  1. Preheat the oven grill or broiler.
  2. Melt the butter, brown sugar and cinnamon in a frying pan over medium heat until the sugar dissolves and the mixture begins to bubble, about 1 minute.
  3. Add the honey and vinegar, stir to combine and continue to simmer for another 3 to 5 minutes, or until the mixtures start to thicken and caramelise.
  4. Add in the pears and sauté, stirring frequently, over medium heat for 10 to 15 minutes, or until the pears are caramelised. Set aside until needed.
  5. Meanwhile, place the sliced walnut bread onto a baking sheet in a single layer. Drizzle both sides with a little oil and toast in the oven grill or broiler until both sides are a light golden colour.
  6. Top each slice of toasted walnut bread with blue cheese and pop the tray back under the oven grill or broiler for around 5 minutes, or until the blue cheese softens and starts to melt.
  7. Remove from the heat, top with a spoonful of the caramelised pear and sauce and serve while still warm.

 

Fromage Homage
About Food Daydreaming

I follow new recipes perfectly the first couple of times and then I pull them apart and put them back together my way. My biggest pet peeve is when I follow a recipe to a tee and then it doesn't turn out the way it should... I end up growling in my kitchen and that's just not right ;)

17 responses to “Caramelised Pear and Blue Cheese Crostini

  1. I salute you! And fair enough if you still don’t like it! These do look delicious though, so I will eat your share too, if that’s okay? 🙂 Thanks for rising to the Cheese, Please! Challenge. No more blue cheese, I promise 😉

  2. Pingback: April’s Cheese, Please! Recipe Blog Challenge – Blue Cheese | Fromage Homage

  3. Ahhh, I’ve always loved blue cheese, though never been hugely in to the soapy tasting Danish blue, so am trying use memories of that to empathise! These look great, could easily scarf them down if they were on my table right now.

  4. Blue cheese can be overpowering, I like it in small amounts. I prefer milder cheeses but your crostini do sound delicious, the walnut bread and caramelized pear sound wonderful and I imagine they balanced the assertive cheese.

    • Thanks so much! I was assured that they were in fact tasty, and that the caramelised pears helped to mellow the blue cheese. I have to admit though, I prefer my caramelised apple and brie version 🙂

  5. Pingback: April’s Cheese, Please! Recipe Challenge Round-Up – Blue Cheese | Fromage Homage

  6. It wasn’t until a Spanish woman I used to know bought Stilton from Fortnum and Mason’s for the Matriarch that I actually liked blue cheese. It was so perfectly ripe (hah, haven’t had it since)! That’s usually the problem with a lot of commercial cheese these days. Even brie can taste amazing when ripe

    • You and I, dear Sir, are about to have our first disagreement… you don’t like brie??? However, that is a very lovely story of you and the Spanish Matriarch 🙂

      • Au contraire! Love brie melted with fresh thyme leaves. However, if you ever get the chance of a non pasteurised brie that’s perfectly ripe it’s difficult to go back to the commercial brands in the shops. It really is that good.

  7. Favourite blue cheese? That implies liking more than one… I might just use the blue cheese I’m least repulsed by! I do like the idea of the caramelised pears though.

    • I must have stood in front of the blue cheeses for about half an hour, trying to find one that repulsed me the least… turns out I could smell all of them through their wrappings so ended up picking a blue cheese based on it’s name… how do you go past one that’s called Roaring Forties? 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Food Daydreaming on WordPress.com
