Asparagus Tarts, Two Ways

If you haven’t noticed, I both enjoy making and eating quiches, tarts and pies. Many have featured asparagus in the mix, but none have featured asparagus as the main ingredient.

Image

So when Miss Fromage Homage challenged her cheese followers to create a seasonal dish for May’s Cheese, Please! Challenge, I knew that I wanted to make a tart that allowed asparagus to shine like the star vegetable it can be.

Fromage Homage

 

 

 

 

 

Not only could I not decide what kind of asparagus tart to make, but I found some beautiful bunches of asparagus… enough to make two tarts… So you have a choice between a light and lemony asparagus and ricotta tart, or a more earthy asparagus and mushroom tart with white cheddar. It’s almost like there’s a tart for those experiencing the first warm and breezy days of spring, and another for those who are currently digging their favourite jumper out from beneath their summer clothes…

It also happens to be Friday… and you know what that means… it’s Fiesta Friday (#15 to be exact) over at The Novice Gardener and I’m not late this time!

Fiesta Friday Badge Button I party @

 

 

 

 

 

Bloggers and recipe hoarders alike, if you are not familiar with Fromage Homage or The Novice Gardener, go and visit them now… there are so many fantastic recipes, bloggers and stories that it’s like unwrapping hundreds of presents all at once.

Ricotta and Asparagus Tart

  • Servings: makes two 24 x 12cm tarts
  • Print

Asparagus Tart 1

Ingredients

  • 1 sheet ready-rolled puff pastry*
  • 250g ricotta (crumbled)
  • 100g fetta (crumbled)
  • zest from ½ a lemon
  • ¼ cup chives (finely sliced)
  • 2 bunches asparagus (woody ends trimmed)
  • 1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons parmesan (finely grated)

Method

  1. Heat oven to 200°C.
  2. Slice the puff pastry sheet in half and transfer them to a baking tray.
  3. Without cutting all the way through the pastry, score a 1cm border using a butter knife, and then prick the pastry on the inside of that border all over with a fork.
  4. Bake for 10 minutes. Deflate the pastry by gently pressing down in the centre of the tart and set aside to cool slightly.
  5. Meanwhile, combine the ricotta, fetta, lemon zest and chives in a bowl and season with salt and pepper to taste.
  6. Spread the cheese mixture evenly along both tarts, making sure to keep the border free from the filling.
  7. Place the asparagus spears onto the tart, alternating the direction of the tips, and gently press into the cheese mixture.
  8. Brush the asparagus spears with a little olive oil and then scatter the parmesan evenly over the top of each tart.
  9. Bake for 20 minutes and serve warm or at room temperature with a green salad.

* The ready-rolled puff pastry I tend to use comes in 24.5 cm square sheets.

 

Asparagus, Mushroom and White Cheddar Tart

  • Servings: makes two 24 x 12cm tarts
  • Print

Asparagus Tart 2

Ingredients

  • 1 sheet ready-rolled puff pastry*
  • 1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 shallots (thinly sliced)
  • 200g swiss brown or cup mushrooms (roughly chopped)
  • 2 bunches asparagus (approx. 300g, woody ends trimmed, roughly chopped)
  • 150g white cheddar (grated)
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • ¼ cup fresh parsley (minced)

Method

  1. Heat oven to 200°C.
  2. Slice the puff pastry sheet in half and transfer them to a baking tray.
  3. Without cutting all the way through the pastry, score a 1cm border using a butter knife, and then prick the pastry on the inside of that boarder all over with a fork.
  4. Bake for 10 minutes. Deflate the pastry by gently pressing down in the centre of the tart and set aside to cool slightly.
  5. Meanwhile, over medium heat, sauté the shallots and mushrooms with the olive oil in a frying pan until the mushrooms begin to soften, about 8 to 10 minutes. Transfer to a large bowl and allow to cool slightly.
  6. Add the chopped asparagus, white cheddar, milk and parsley to the mushroom mixture. Stir to combine.
  7. Spoon the filling evenly onto both tarts, making sure to keep the border free from filling.
  8. Bake for 20 minutes and serve warm or at room temperature with a green salad.

* The ready-rolled puff pastry I tend to use comes in 24.5 cm square sheets.

About Food Daydreaming

I follow new recipes perfectly the first couple of times and then I pull them apart and put them back together my way. My biggest pet peeve is when I follow a recipe to a tee and then it doesn't turn out the way it should... I end up growling in my kitchen and that's just not right ;)

25 responses to “Asparagus Tarts, Two Ways

  1. I’m glad you’ve forgiven me for forcing blue cheese upon you 😉 I love asparagus every which way and I’m also a recent convert to ready-rolled puff pastry tarts. These look lovely and fresh. Thanks for sharing with Cheese, Please! this month 🙂

    • You were quick! How are you? I moved on very, very quickly from the blue cheese trauma that you put me through but only because you let me choose the cheese to use 😉 Recent convert?? How come? It’s really handy to have when you just can’t be bothered making pastry from scratch…

  2. Pingback: May’s Cheese, Please! Recipe Blog Challenge – Cheeseonal and Seasonal | Fromage Homage

  3. Hi, Elamb! Good to see you here at FF15. 🙂

    These tarts look so yum – from the puff pastry to the ‘toppings’. I bet they are crunchy, flaky and delicious, too!

    Thanks for sharing them with us. 🙂 Enjoy FF15.

  4. Nice – two blog parties in one. Both tarts look wonderful. If only you were really bringing it to a party near me… 🙂

  5. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #15 | The Novice Gardener

  6. These tarts looks lovely, with ready-to-use puff pastry too! That makes it simple and easy.:)

    • Ha, I can make shortcrust pastry in my sleep, but puff pastry from scratch? Once was enough! They’re great little tarts when you need to make something quick, tasty and mostly fresh 🙂

  7. this looks like a lovely comfort food!! 🙂

  8. Both of these tarts look amazing and sound positively delicious! If both were before me, I wouldn’t know which to try first. 🙂 Decisions, decisions….

  9. Wow! Your tarts look amazing! I love the idea of savory tarts! Wonderful!

  10. This is a keeper recipe for sure. Love your spin on creating two asparagus tarts! Simple and very impressive!

  11. These look yummy! It’s only in the last year that I’ve discovered asparagus so I try to eat it as much as possible to make up for all that lost time! I will definitely be trying these

  12. Great going! The ricotta comes in handy again.

  13. I love asparagus, so these tarts look so good. Thanks for sharing the recipe. 🙂

  14. Welcome to Fiesta Friday – glad you could make it and that we did not traumatise you with blue cheese – Ms FromHom I am looking at you! I love her writing style and it turns out that we are practically neighbours so I loved seeing that you submitted this recipe for her Cheese Please challenge…anyway, both your tarts sound delicious – I am a sucker for puff pastry tarts and these are going on my must try list! Enjoy the party!!

  15. Great tart ideas! Bet they were delicious! 🙂

  16. Simply gorgeous! Thanks so much for bringing them to FF! They will be gone in just a minute! 😉

  17. Such beautiful tarts – love both of them! Can’t wait to try out these recipes, though it’s autumn here, so will bookmark for next spring…

    • It’s autumn here too, but I came across some really fresh asparagus bunches at a farmers’ market that were more crisp than the ones I came across in spring! Most veggies are seasonable for at least someone 😉

  18. Both tarts look delicius, Elamb! I love asparagus and am so eager to try the mushroom and white cheddar tart!

  19. I love your tarts, I could eat asparagus all day, I can’t wait to see it at the farmers market, I don’t think I could decide which to make both sound so good. Cheese, puff pastry, asparagus YUM!

  20. Lovely tarts, so many great flavours 🙂

  21. Pingback: May’s Cheese, Please! Challenge Round-Up – Seasonal and Cheeseonal | Fromage Homage

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Food Daydreaming on WordPress.com
