Honey Roasted Fig and Mascarpone-Yogurt Parfait

It’s getting just a little harder to find figs these days, and that’s usually the first sign for me that it’s time for earthier, more comforting flavours to make their way back into my everyday cooking.

Like very many people, I cook seasonally. I look forward to certain months, anxiously awaiting the return of something, usually plums and berries.

Image

However, I’ve noticed that I do not upload blog posts seasonally. I tend to  post recipes because I’ve cooked the dish again, or I come across the photo, a post-it note. Sometimes I post recipes because there’s a particular national food holiday or event that creates a playful link. Other time, I post recipes because everyone else does, not so much to say, ‘hey, I can do it to’, but more because there’s this urgency sometimes in the food blog community when a trend takes off and you just get caught up and dragged along for the ride.

So, partly because of a seasonal cheese challenge throw down from Fromage Homage, and partly because I will very soon be figless until next season, I will post some of my favourite and newly discovered seasonal dishes for May.

Honey Roasted Figs and Mascarpone-Yogurt Parfait

  • Servings: makes 1 indulgent breakfast parfait
  • Print

Roasted Fig Parfait

Ingredients

  • 4 fresh figs*
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • ½ vanilla bean (or one teaspoon vanilla essence)
  • 4 tablespoons vanilla yogurt
  • 2 tablespoons mascarpone
  • 4 tablespoons granola (separated)

Method

  1. Preheat the over to 180°C.
  2. Discard the stems and slice each fig in half. Place them in a snug, single layer in a shallow baking dish.
  3. Combine the honey and the vanilla bean seeds or vanilla essence. Drizzle the honey mixture over the figs and bake for 15 to 20 minutes or until softened. Allow to cool a little before roughly chopping.
  4. Meanwhile, combine the yogurt and mascarpone in a bowl and stir until smooth and thick. Set aside.
  5. In a glass (or bowl), begin to layer the ingredients: add two tablespoons of granola, top with half of the yogurt mixture, followed by the chopped figs, layer over the rest of the yogurt, and finally, top with the remaining granola.
  6. Eat immediately!

 

* Mission figs are best for baking, but any fresh figs will work quite nicely.

About Food Daydreaming

I follow new recipes perfectly the first couple of times and then I pull them apart and put them back together my way. My biggest pet peeve is when I follow a recipe to a tee and then it doesn't turn out the way it should... I end up growling in my kitchen and that's just not right ;)

8 responses to “Honey Roasted Fig and Mascarpone-Yogurt Parfait

  1. Love the parfait and really love figs. Can’t wait til they are in season. This could be dessert or breakfast or really good any time of day. Delicious!

  2. Figs and cheese – lovely!

  3. Pingback: May’s Cheese, Please! Recipe Blog Challenge – Cheeseonal and Seasonal | Fromage Homage

  4. Oh yes, yes, yes figs is all I can say! Lovely.

  5. Pingback: May’s Cheese, Please! Challenge Round-Up – Seasonal and Cheeseonal | Fromage Homage

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Food Daydreaming on WordPress.com
