Rhubarb and Strawberry Pies

To my knowledge, this month was the first time that I ever had rhubarb.

Is that strange?

Image

I don’t consider myself a picky eater anymore, but I do admit I am still a cautious eater… if the smell of something make me wrinkle my nose, I’m most likely not going to try it.

So, finicky eating habits and growing up with a Mediterranean mother means that there are still a lot of foods and dishes out there that I haven’t tried yet. And up until a couple of weeks ago, rhubarb was one of them.

I saw the lovely red stalks at the market and grabbed a bunch, knowing that my baking bible would help me out with a recipe or an idea once I was home. My only worry was the taste as I had no idea what to expect.

And it turns out that I love it! Rhubarb is delightfully tart and, as most already know, pairs beautifully with strawberries.

Rhubarb Strawberry Pie2

I may be late to both the rhubarb party and to The Novice Gardener’s Fiesta Friday #17 party, but at least I arrived with style with these cute little rhubarb and strawberry pies.

Fiesta Friday Badge Button I party @

 

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pies

  • Servings: makes 4 pies
  • Print

Rhubarb Strawberry Pie1

Sweet Shortcrust Pastry Ingredients

  • 250g plain flour
  • 75g caster sugar
  • 150g butter (cold, cut into cubes)
  • 1 egg

Rhubarb and Strawberry Filling Ingredients

  • 4 large rhubarb stems (coarsely chopped)
  • 250g fresh strawberries (coarsely chopped)
  • 55g caster sugar + 2 extra teaspoons
  • 2 tablespoons water (divided)
  • 1 tablespoon cornflour
  • Butter for greasing
  • 1 egg white (lightly whisked)

Method

  1. To make the pastry, combine the flour, sugar and butter and process either by hand, in a food processor or with a pastry cutter until the mixture is crumbly.
  2. Add the egg and mix until combined. Turn out onto a lightly floured surface and knead until smooth.
  3. Shape the dough into a disc, cover with cling wrap, and refrigerate for 30 minutes.
  4. While the dough is in the fridge, begin making the filling. Combine the rhubarb, strawberries, sugar and half the water in a medium saucepan and bring to the boil. Reduce the heat to medium-low and simmer, covered, for about 3 minutes or until the rhubarb is tender.
  5. In a small bowl, combine the corn flour and the remaining tablespoon of water and stir to mix into a smooth paste. Add it to the rhubarb and strawberry mixture and stir gently until the mixture begins to boil and thicken.
  6. Reduce the heat to low and simmer, gently stirring, for 1 to 2 minutes. Remove form the heat and set aside to cool.
  7. After 30 minutes, remove the dough from the refrigerator and allow it warm slightly.
  8. Grease 4 loose base mini tartlet pans (12cm) with butter and set aside on a baking tray.
  9. Roll out two-thirds of the pastry between sheets of baking paper to about 4mm thickness. Cut our four rounds to fit the base and sides of the tartlet pans. Gently press dough rounds into each pan and refrigerate for 20 minutes.
  10. In the meantime, preheat the oven to 200°C.
  11. Roll out the remaining dough between sheets of baking paper, again to a 4mm thickness and cut out four rounds to fit the top of the tartlet pans, with a bit of dough overhang.
  12. When ready, remove the tartlet pans from the fridge and spoon the fruit mixture evenly across the four pastry cases.
  13. Brush the edges of the top dough rounds with the whisked egg white and place over the filling, pressing the edges together to seal. Brush the tops with the remaining egg white, sprinkle with the additional sugar and cut a small steam hole into the centre of each pie.
  14. Bakes pies for 30 to 35 minutes or until golden brown on top.
  15. Stand pies in their pans for 10 minutes before turning out onto a wire rack to cool. Serve warm.

Recipe slightly adapted from The Australian Women’s Weekly Bake cookbook.

 

About Food Daydreaming

I follow new recipes perfectly the first couple of times and then I pull them apart and put them back together my way. My biggest pet peeve is when I follow a recipe to a tee and then it doesn't turn out the way it should... I end up growling in my kitchen and that's just not right ;)

11 responses to “Rhubarb and Strawberry Pies

  1. Strawberries & rhubarb are of course a classic & DELICIOUS combination but the “mini” pies make this super fabulous!! 🙂 Great!

  2. YUM, love strawberry and rhubarb pie. The dessert table is the place to be!

  3. Better late and in style, than never! Thanks for joining us with these gorgeous tarts – they are going to fly off the table as there has been a dearth of sweet things this week! I am about to make a rhubarb cake and will think of you…PS it is also fabulous with ginger – the sweet version….

  4. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #17 | The Novice Gardener

  5. I agree with Selma, Elamb – better late than never!

    I feel the same, too – there are still LOTS (and I mean a LOT) of dishes that I have tried. I also don’t try food that are alien to me or the smell seems too overpowering. But these gorgeous pies of yours? I would make a second thought!

    Thank you for taking these with you, Elamb! Hope you are having fun and have a fab weekend! ❤

  6. Can you believe I’ve never had rhubarb with strawberries? Must remedy this situation! Your pies look wonderful!

  7. Rhubarb and strawberries what a great combination 🙂

  8. ohlidia

    So glad you got around to trying rhubarb, it’s wonderful! As are those cutie little pies! 😉

  9. Wow, lovely little pies! And rhubarb & strawberries are such an awesome combination 🙂

  10. Those pies look so good! I’m waiting for the glut of strawberries to happen. It ain’t happening. The weather’s that bad. So I made rhubarb jam last week, sans strawberries. And by the time I’ll have the chance of strawberries there’ll be no rhubarb left! Darn this weather. Anyway, so glad you’ve found this odd sort of fruit/vegetable. It’s also really good with spices and meat, including duck.

  11. Pingback: Rhubarb and Strawberry Fool | Food Daydreaming

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Food Daydreaming on WordPress.com
