Mushroom, Sage and Chilli Pizza – A Cheat’s Pizza for a Friday Night

Some Fridays, I’m itching to get home from work and cook something a little more extravagant for a weeknight dinner; obviously it’s something I googled during the workday… Other Fridays, I just shrug and order take out, or grab something on my way home from the many cafes and restaurants that I pass.

Growing up, Friday-night takeout with my family was pizza, not fish and chips. So some Fridays, I still crave/want/expect pizza. And it doesn’t matter if it’s pizzeria pizza, homemade pizza, fresh toppings on a store-bought base, pita bread pizza or puff pastry pizza. As long as it can still be labelled as a ‘pizza’ it’s all good. I do draw the line at frozen pizza though…

Image

But making pizza dough from scratch on a weeknight is a non-starter for me. So if you are looking for a pizza dough recipe, you might like to check this Sweet Potato and Goat’s Cheese Pizza recipe out instead.

This is a versatile topping recipe. You can swap out the sage for thyme, parsley or tarragon, and you can either use more chilli or take it out completely. Best of all, you can mix and match the mushrooms to your heart’s content – I used a mix of Shitake, King Oyster, Oyster, Swiss Brown and Enoki mushrooms.

But the best thing of all about having pizza on a Friday night is sharing it with everyone at Fiesta Friday #19, hosted by Angie over at The Novice Gardener.

Fiesta Friday Badge Button I party @

Mushroom, Sage and Chilli Pizza

  • Servings: makes 2 pizzas
  • Print

Mushroom, Sage and Chilli Pizza

Ingredients

  • 2 pre-prepared pizza bases
  • 1 cup pasta/pizza sauce (divided)
  • 400g mixed mushrooms (roughly chopped, divided)
  • 10 fresh sage leaves (finely sliced, divided)
  • 2 fresh, long red chillies (deseeded, finely sliced, divided)
  • 200g havarti (grated, divided)

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 180ºC.
  2. Heat two baking trays in the oven for 10 minutes and then remove.
  3. Set one pizza base on each heated baking tray.
  4. Spread half of the pasta/pizza sauce over one of the pizza bases. Top with half of the mushrooms, half of the sage, half of the sliced chillies and half of the grated havarti cheese.
  5. Repeat with the second pizza base and the remaining ingredients.
  6. Bake, swapping the trays halfway through, for 15 to 20 minutes or until the havarti melts and the pizza bases are heated through and crispy.
  7. Slice, serve and munch.

About Food Daydreaming

I follow new recipes perfectly the first couple of times and then I pull them apart and put them back together my way. My biggest pet peeve is when I follow a recipe to a tee and then it doesn't turn out the way it should... I end up growling in my kitchen and that's just not right ;)

6 responses to “Mushroom, Sage and Chilli Pizza – A Cheat’s Pizza for a Friday Night

  1. I really like your topping combination! Pizza…mmmm….love it! Perfect for Fiesta Friday!

  2. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #19 | The Novice Gardener

  3. Perfect party food, you can hold it in your hand and eat it, it’s savory and cheesy, and who does not love pizza? Plus, I will eat anything with chiles when they’re spelled “chilli” because it reminds me of Jamie Olier and Nigella Lawson . . . makes me feel like I’m eating in London. 🙂

  4. Sinfully Tempting

    What wonderful ingredients you’ve lined up for this delicious pizza! Thanks so much for sharing it at Fiesta Friday! 🙂

  5. Hi Elamb, This pizza look very delectable. Yes, perfect for FF#19! 🙂

  6. Absolutely perfect party food, I love the combination of toppings.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Food Daydreaming on WordPress.com
