Orange Blossom Madeleines with Burnt-Honey Crème

I’ve had this beautiful recipe for orange blossom madeleines bookmarked for a very, very long time.

You see, I had a very small bottle of orange blossom water that was of indeterminate age so I threw it out and made a mental note to pick up a new bottle; a mental note that kept popping up now and then and quickly disappearing back into the vortex of recipes and ingredients.

Turns out, I didn’t need to worry. The lovely older gentleman at the fruit and nut store assured me that orange blossom water lasts an age, and that his own half-full bottle was first opened over ten years ago.

Now, I’m not entirely convinced that I believe him, but it turns out that my new bottle of orange blossom water smelled exactly the same as the one I threw out. So don’t be put off by the overly perfumey smell of it, in small doses it produces an absolutely delightful flavour and aroma in food.

Image

And then, the stars aligned.

I was happily googling and found my way to FoodimentaryTM, only to discovered that June 27 is orange blossom day. I had the recipe. I had the orange blossom water. It was time to get me some madeleines.

Now for those who don’t read recipes all the way through before beginning, please note that you have to start this recipe the day before as the batter needs to be chilled overnight.

I am going to be a little bit sneaky here… as I posted this minutes before Miss Angie over at The Novice Gardener posted her Fiesta Friday #22, I’m going to quickly share these yummy, orange-honey scented madeleines with this week’s party goers!

Fiesta Friday Badge Button I party @

 

Orange Blossom Madeleines with Burnt-Honey Crème

  • Servings: makes approx. 24 madeleines
  • Print

Image

* Before starting this recipe, please note that the madeleine batter needs overnight chilling.

Ingredients for the Orange Blossom Madeleines

  • 190g butter (coarsely chopped, plus extra, melted, for brushing)
  • 20g honey
  • Rind of 1 lemon (finely grated)
  • Rind of ½ orange (finely grated)
  • Scraped seeds of ½ vanilla bean or ½ teaspoon vanilla bean paste
  • 210g plain flour
  • 190g caster sugar
  • 3 eggs (lightly beaten)
  • 1½ teaspoons orange blossom water (or to taste)

Ingredients for the Burnt-Honey Crème

  • 80g honey
  • 300ml pouring cream
  • 2 egg yolks
  • 40g caster sugar

Method

  1. Cook butter in a small saucepan over medium-high heat until lightly golden, about 3-4 minutes and then remove from the heat.
  2. Stir in the honey, lemon rind, orange rind, orange blossom water and vanilla, and then cool to room temperature.
  3. Meanwhile, whisk flour, sugar and eggs in a bowl until smooth and creamy, then set aside to rest for 10 minutes.
  4. Gradually add the cooled butter mixture to the flour and egg mixture and beat until smooth and just combined. Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate to rest overnight.
  5. For the burnt-honey crème, cook the honey in a small saucepan over medium-high heat until caramelised, about 2-3 minutes.
  6. Remove from the heat and add cream (be careful as hot honey will spit). Return to the heat and whisk to combine, then bring to the simmer.
  7. Meanwhile, whisk yolks and sugar in a bowl until the sugar dissolves, about 1-2 minutes. Add the cream mixture and whisk to combine. Return mixture to the saucepan and stir continuously over medium heat until mixture coats a spoon thickly, about 3-4 minutes.
  8. Strain through a fine-mesh sieve and set aside until required. The burnt-honey crème can be served warm or chilled.
  9. When ready to bake the madeleines, preheat the oven to 180ºC. Lightly brush a madeleine tray with extra melted butter, mopping up any excess that pools in the bases, then spoon in level tablespoons of the madeleine mixture into each mould.
  10. Bake until golden around the edges and humped in the middle, around 15 minutes or until firm in the centre, and then remove from the tray.
  11. Serve madeleines warm with burnt-honey crème.

This recipe is from the July 2012 issue of Australian Gourmet Traveller.

About Food Daydreaming

I follow new recipes perfectly the first couple of times and then I pull them apart and put them back together my way. My biggest pet peeve is when I follow a recipe to a tee and then it doesn't turn out the way it should... I end up growling in my kitchen and that's just not right ;)

42 responses to “Orange Blossom Madeleines with Burnt-Honey Crème

  1. These look so perfectly delicious. I’ve never cooked with orange water before, but you’ve pulled it off fantastically. Thanks for bringing these to the FF 🙂

  2. I love the idea of burnt honey creme. Oh my goodness, I bet that goes perfectly with these. I loved your story of the orange blossom water too! Glad you got some just in time to celebrate!

  3. Yum, yum, yum! I’ve been thinking of madeleines lately. Probably ‘coz the last time I made them, it was Valentine’s Day, so it’s been a while. So, thank you for reminding me. Your version sounds totally delectable. Have never had anything with orange-blossom water before, but I can imagine what a wonderful scent it must have. Will have to find a source for it. I have a feeling it’ll be worth the trouble. Thanks for sharing at Fiesta Friday! 🙂

    • Orange blossom water is a great thing to have in the pantry, especially since it lasts for such a long time! It’s odd though – in the bottle, it smells very flowery and perfumey, but baked it smells like flowers and oranges – completely different! And thank you Miss Angie for hosting FF!

  4. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #22 | The Novice Gardener

  5. Oh my! These look just heavenly! I will be having day dreams about these for sure!

  6. burnt honey sounds different and interesting one….

  7. Oh wow, I bet they smell amazing!!! Thank you for bringing them to this weeks Fiesta Friday and for the lesson about orange blossom water ☺️

  8. Wow! this looks amazing! I’ve never made madelines before, but will definitely have to bookmark this.

    • Madeleines are worth the effort, I promise, so you should definitely give them a try. This particular recipe requires overnight chilling, but there are heaps of recipes out there where the batter is ready in about ten minutes. Get yourself a madeleine tray get baking!

  9. Lovely flavour association! This cream looks divine!

  10. Wow!! Some for me please!! These look and sound so wonderful! So glad you brought these to FF!

  11. Those have got to be the cutest Madeleines ever! And that Burnt-Honey Crème…WOW!

  12. These looks lovely! I need to get my hands on orange blossom water. Sounds amazing. I made madeleines this week too, but with elderflower cordial 🙂

  13. This look so delicious! Love it! Happy FF!

  14. These look amazing, I don’t think I’ve ever had madelines before, they always look so good though and yours look delightful! x

  15. Such a lovely recipe! I so love madelines… and can’t ever eat one without thinking of an old house in Paris covered in vines, lived twelve little girls in two straight lines…” 🙂

  16. I love love love madeleines and adding the orange blossom water is a great idea, a little floral and citrus in such a light and delicate cookie is perfect and that burnt honey cream, fantastic. Someone better watch me at the table I’m libel to eat the whole thing,

  17. I’m a madeleines addicted person… the honey cream on top of them heavenly!

  18. Um, I wonder if orange blossom is similar to orange extract?? I am seeing so many recipes with orange blossom and yours look so good. 🙂

    • Not sure if the outcome is the same… Orange extract smells like oranges but orange blossom water smells more flowery, with the orange scent not really coming out until the baking… I think you might end up with a stronger orange flavour with the extract. Let’s google!

  19. I have a little bottle of orange blossom water and my mum is always talking of making madeleines… so next time I visit her your recipe will be just the thing! Thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Food Daydreaming on WordPress.com
