Tomato and Fetta Salad – The Nostalgic Salad

There are some things that you don’t outgrow, no matter how old you get.

When I was younger, more often than not, my after-school snack would be a fresh tomato and fetta salad with a slice of bread or two. It doesn’t sound like much, but on a hot, stinky day, those sweet summer tomatoes marinated in tart balsamic vinegar were the most wonderful thing in the world.

Years later, I remember coming home from uni on a sweltering day and politely demanding that mum make me a tomato salad as I unpacked stacks and stacks of library books.

Tomato and Fetta Salad

It’s a simple dish that has stuck with me, that has evolved slightly over time, that dominates my thoughts every now and then and leaves a craving that will not quit until I make big bowl full.

And that’s what happened this month. When Miss Fromage Homage announced that the Cheese, Please! Blog Challenge for July 2014 was summery cheese, it was as if I suddenly developed tunnel vision and could think of making nothing else.

It doesn’t help that it is absolutely freezing here…

Fromage Homage

So, this is not so much a recipe as it is a suggestion for how to prepare a fresh tomato salad. The key, as I learnt from my mum all those years ago, is to allow the tomatoes to ‘rest’, so that their juices and the fetta marry with the balsamic salad dressing, making it just perfect for bread dipping.

Tomato and Fetta Salad

  • Servings: Serves 2 (but can be easily doubled)
  • Print

Tomato and Fetta Salad

Ingredients

  • 4 tomatoes (at room temperature)
  • 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 4 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
  • 100g fetta (crumbled)

Optional Additions

  • 2 tablespoons fresh basil
  • 1 avocado (halved, stoned and coarsely chopped)
  • Fresh bread

Method

  1. Coarsely chop the tomatoes.
  2. Tip them into a bowl and add the extra virgin olive oil and balsamic vinegar. Top with half of the fetta and stir to coat.
  3. Set aside for at least 30 minutes, stirring the tomatoes every now and then.
  4. When ready to serve the tomato salad, top with the rest of the fetta, and add the basil and avocado if using. Serve with fresh bread.

About Food Daydreaming

I follow new recipes perfectly the first couple of times and then I pull them apart and put them back together my way. My biggest pet peeve is when I follow a recipe to a tee and then it doesn't turn out the way it should... I end up growling in my kitchen and that's just not right ;)

4 responses to “Tomato and Fetta Salad – The Nostalgic Salad

  1. Simple but lovely. I lived on Greek Salad when I went island-hopping with my sister as a teenager. I still love the stuff and made it just the other day for lunch. If my dastardly tomatoes ever get their act together and ripen, this sounds a good one 🙂

    • It really is moreish, isn’t it? There’s just something so delightfully simple about this that, for me, is almost comforting. Thanks for accepting such a minimal recipe into this month’s Cheese, Please! 🙂

  2. Pingback: July’s Cheese, Please! Recipe Blog Challenge – Summery Cheese | Fromage Homage

  3. Pingback: July’s Cheese, Please! Challenge Recipe Round-Up – Summery Cheese | Fromage Homage

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Food Daydreaming on WordPress.com
