Rhubarb and Strawberry Fool

As some of you know, this year was the first time that I cooked with rhubarb, and I’ve managed to try out a few rhubarb recipes during the small window of opportunity that we’re allowed when it comes to this strange and wonderful vegetable.

I’ve made strawberry-rhubarb pies, rhubarb-apple crisp and rhubarb sauce. I even had a bit of a nibble on a raw piece of rhubarb, which was delightfully sour, although the stringy texture is something that might take some getting used to.

With a bunch carefully stored away, I began searching for the last rhubarb recipe of the season, and had to giggle when I came across a Rhubarb and Strawberry Fool recipe by Gabriel Gaté.

Rhubarb-Strawberry Fool

He was the first chef I ever watched on television as a kid, and would watch him weekly with my sister and my brother-in-law. I’m not a huge fan of desserts with masses of cream so it would have been a perfect treat to take to my sister’s for dinner, but by the time that they return from their holiday, rhubarb season would have been over. So I packed my bag full of goodies, whipped it all together at my mum’s house and made her eat it instead!

If the amount of cream and mascarpone seems daunting to you as well, just layer in some extra rhubarb and strawberry compote as it cuts through the sweetness and richness of the cream.

With its season drawing to an end, I think it’s time to say farewell to rhubarb. For now… I’ll just patiently compile a list of recipes to try out for when it comes around again. Rhubarb and Berry Mille-Feuille anyone?

Rhubarb and Strawberry Fool

  • Servings: makes 6 fools/parfaits
  • Print

Rhubarb-Strawberry Fool

This recipe requires 2 hours of cooling time.

Ingredients

  • 600g rhubarb (approximately)
  • 90g honey
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • 200g strawberries (hulled and sliced)
  • 1 cup mascarpone
  • 1 tablespoon lemon rind (finely grated)
  • 2 cups whipped cream (home-whipped or store-bought)

Method

  1. Trim and wash the rhubarb stalks. Peel and cut them into 5 cm pieces.
  2. Place the honey and water in a saucepan over medium heat. Add the rhubarb and cook, stirring occasionally, for 6 to 8 minutes or until the rhubarb is just soft.
  3. Add the strawberries and gently stir to combine. Cook for 1 to 2 minutes or until the strawberries are just soft.
  4. Transfer to a bowl and stand for 1 to 2 hours or until cooled.
  5. When ready to put the fools together, spoon 1 tablespoon of the rhubarb and strawberry mixture into the base of 6 glasses.
  6. Meanwhile, whisk together the mascarpone and lemon rind until smooth. Add three-quarters of the remaining stewed rhubarb mixture – do not mix – then add the whipped cream.
  7. Using a table knife, gently swirl the mixture together.
  8. Spoon or pipe it into the glasses. Top each glass with remaining rhubarb mixture. Serve.

Recipe by Gabriel Gaté as found on the SBS Food website.

About Food Daydreaming

I follow new recipes perfectly the first couple of times and then I pull them apart and put them back together my way. My biggest pet peeve is when I follow a recipe to a tee and then it doesn't turn out the way it should... I end up growling in my kitchen and that's just not right ;)

11 responses to “Rhubarb and Strawberry Fool

  1. I really love Fool, the strawberry rhubarb combination is really lovely. The slightly sour rhubarb balances the sweetness of the strawberries and sweet rich cream. Delicious.It’s such an elegant dessert thats so easy to make.

  2. This is the sort of summery dessert where it’s far too cloying for me. I far prefer anything with cream to be served hot. Having said that, a British fool would never include mascarpone! Try a ratio of 3:1 of double/heavy cream to the 1 of Greek style yoghurt. When it’s summer I just never bother with the double cream. 🙂

    • Me too Johnny, but I figured I would make it to the recipe for the first time. To be honest, I would just spoon the stewed rhubarb and strawberry mixture over vanilla or Greek yogurt and leave the cream out all together 🙂

  3. All the cream and mascarpone sounds wonderful to me! These look delicious.

  4. Mille-Feuille for me yes! I just adore rhubarb and is obsessed to find it every year. I even have “scouts” phoning me or buying it when they see some. I freeze mine and use it for months.

  5. What a great combination – sounds delicious…..

  6. I can’t think of anything better than rhubarb, mascarpone, and cream on a hot summer day. Thanks for sharing this beautiful recipe!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Food Daydreaming on WordPress.com
