Roasted Vegetable and Haloumi Burritos – AKA Squeaky Cheese Burritos

Sometimes, a food pairing just naturally occurs to you. You either end up in a completely different direction to where you though you would end up, or you just have this magical moment in the kitchen where you reach for something that completely transforms a dish.

I am a recipe girl, and it does not bother me one bit. I enjoy following a recipe to the letter so that I can taste what the chef intended me to taste. It’s after the first taste that my own brand of cooking prowess kicks in – do I switch up the herb and spice palate? Do I cook a certain ingredient differently to deepen the flavour? Do I take the components and wrap them in pastry?

But for transformations, small or large, to occur, you have to know what you like; and just in case you guys haven’t figured it out yet, I like cheese very much, and it just so happened that haloumi, aka squeaky cheese, was the missing ingredient for these burritos.

Squeaky Cheese Burrito

I started off by making a vegetarian tostada, following a recipe by Valli Little, whom I absolutely adore. But pickled jalapenos are not really my thing and I completely forgot to buy salsa; so all in all, I was not off to a good start as the dish would never be the way that Valli intended it to be. It was still pretty tasty.

Not even a week later, I assembled most of the ingredients again, with a few new key players, and from a strong foundation base provided by Valli, the squeaky cheese burrito was born.

Burritos are a great dish to plonk onto a table and let people make their own, so I thought these would be a sweet little DIY addition to Angie’s Fiesta Friday 36 over at The Novice Gardener.

Fiesta Friday Badge Button I party @

 

Roasted Vegetable and Haloumi Burritos

  • Servings: Makes 4 decent-sized burritos
  • Print

Squeaky Cheese Burrito

Ingredients

  • 2 red onions (cut into 8 wedges)
  • 4 tomatoes (cut into 8 wedges)
  • 200g butternut pumpkin (cut into small slices)
  • 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • ¼ cup pine nuts
  • 1 cup coriander leaves (loosely packed)
  • 1 to 2 long red chillies (thinly sliced)
  • 180g halloumi (thickly sliced into 8 to 10 pieces)
  • 2 tablespoons lemon olive oil *
  • 4 corn tortillas

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 180°C and Line a large baking tray with baking paper.
  2. Place the onion, tomato and pumpkin on the tray, season with salt and pepper and drizzle with oil. Roast for 1 hour or until tender and slightly charred.
  3. In the meantime, dry toast the pine nuts in a frying pan, stirring frequently over medium-high heat until golden. Empty into a bowl to cool slightly, then combine with the coriander and chilli.
  4. Add the lemon olive oil to the same frying pan over medium-low heat. Once the oil is hot, add the haloumi slices and cook until golden brown. Flip them and continue to cook until the both sides are golden. Drain the cheese on kitchen paper.
  5. Meanwhile, loosely wrap the tortillas in foil and warm in the oven for 3 minutes.
  6. Divide the roasted vegetables among the tortillas, top with halloumi slices and scatter with coriander, chilli and pine nut mixture. Wrap into a burrito and enjoy.

* If you don’t have or cannot find lemon oil, you can use extra virgin olive oil or vegetable oil. If lemon oil is not used, squeeze some fresh lemon juice over the haloumi as it drains.

You could always make lemon oil – add the zest of one large lemon to one cup of olive oil. Heat in a small saucepan over medium heat for ten minutes, but do not allow the oil to reach a simmer. Remove from heat and allow to cool. Strain the lemon zest from the oil and store the lemon-infused oil in a clean jar in a cool and dark place.

Recipe adapted from The Daily Special by Valli Little.

About Food Daydreaming

I follow new recipes perfectly the first couple of times and then I pull them apart and put them back together my way. My biggest pet peeve is when I follow a recipe to a tee and then it doesn't turn out the way it should... I end up growling in my kitchen and that's just not right ;)

24 responses to “Roasted Vegetable and Haloumi Burritos – AKA Squeaky Cheese Burritos

  1. That sounds really good 🙂

  2. This sounds just perfect for the autumn with pumpkin and the chillies too! Halloumi just takes it to another level – thank you so much for bringing this to the party. Happy Fiesta Friday!

  3. YUM! Maybe I’ll do this with my leftover crepas. Good idea, you think?

  4. I love this- sounds wonderful! I’m a recipe girl too- nothing wrong with that!! 🙂 Happy FF 🙂

  5. this looks awesome; naturally, the name is great 🙂

  6. Pingback: Crepas de Mole | Fiesta Friday #36 | The Novice Gardener

  7. I love to make recipes my own too, but would love to try this wholesome dish as is!

  8. While I can’t have halloumi, I’d love to make something with a similar flavor profile. This dish looks delicious! Happy FF, and have a wonderful weekend!

  9. Yum! i love burritos and these ones look perfect!

  10. This sounds absolutely delicious, never had haloumi with burritos and it also never cam into my mind. However, that is what this Fiesta is for. Mingling and exchanging recipes. Thanks for sharing and happy partying. 🙂

  11. I’m glad you had to switch the recipe up, because we would have missed out on such a great recipe! This sounds fantastic!

  12. I love haloumi cheese! Great idea 🙂

  13. ohhh! This sounds like the perfect fall burritos and maybe my dinner for tonight! 😀

  14. What an ingenious combo – thanks for bringing it along to the party! The halloumi makes it such an intriguing recipe, I can’t wait to give this a try 🙂
    Ginger

  15. looks perfect for Mrs Fitz!

  16. I love burritos and really struggle with the idea of having veggie ones…I think I’m cured!

  17. now this looks really good i have saved it to try, happy weekending x

  18. I love haloumi but have little experience cooking with it. This looks like a great use for it.

  19. Wow.. Absolutely delicious!!! Happy FF😊

  20. This looks amazing! Also I just love the nickname “squeaky cheese”. 😉

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Food Daydreaming on WordPress.com
