Lemon Meringue Cupcakes

Today was my first day of work for 2015.

This means that the festive season is officially over.

Shame.

So as we begin a new year, I think it’s important to remember that everyone who has a passion for cooking will experience some form of catastrophe in the kitchen this year. Whether it’s a recipe that just doesn’t come together or accidentally slicing off a fingernail (or worse) with a mandolin – it’s a kitchen – there is bound to be a mishap.

And you know what?

It doesn’t matter.

It’s taken me a very long time to come to that realisation. A long time and a hug from my mum.

Lemon Meringue Cupcakes

You see, I recently made lemon meringue cupcakes for my mum’s birthday. I’ve never made them before, and truth be told, I wanted to make something that looked impressive.

I think I skipped in the kitchen that day – everything was perfect.

My cupcakes were beautiful, moist and delicately lemon flavoured. I had a super fancy brand of lemon curd to use, and my meringue frosting, which I have heard can be temperamental at the best of times, was glossy and silky smooth.

Before packing up the cupcakes to go, I took a photo for my blog. A pretty photo, if I do say so myself.

There may or may not have been more skipping.

I gingerly packed up the cupcakes. I put the lid on the first container. I turned to put the lid on the second container, hit the edge, and watched as my beautiful, impressive-looking cupcakes tumbled to the floor.

Then I promptly burst into tears.

Eventually, I made it to mum’s with the remaining cupcakes. Upon seeing her, I burst into tears again and apologised for bringing her a substandard dessert. She shook her head, told me to stop being silly and gave me a hug.

So it really doesn’t matter if something doesn’t come out looking perfect. Your family and friends will devour the goodies and ask you for more – my brother-in-law, after telling me he was only eating the pretty ones, ate five cupcakes that day.

It could have been worse.

Happy 2015 peoples!

Lemon Meringue Cupcakes

  • Servings: makes 12 cupcakes
  • Print

Lemon Meringue Cupcakes

Special Equipment

  • A candy thermometer
  • A kitchen blowtorch*

Ingredients for the Cupcakes

  • 185g plain flour
  • 1½ teaspoon baking powder
  • 125g unsalted butter (at room temperature)
  • 145g caster sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 125ml milk
  • ½ teaspoon natural lemon extract
  • 1 tablespoon lemon zest (finely grated)
  • 60g lemon curd (store-bought or homemade)

Ingredients for the Meringue Frosting

  • 130g caster sugar
  • 95g eggwhite
  • ⅛ teaspoon salt

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 175°C. Line 12 x 80 ml capacity muffin holes with paper cases.
  2. Sift the flour and baking powder together into a bowl. Set aside.
  3. Place the butter and sugar in the bowl of an electric mixer and beat for 2 to 3 minutes or until light and creamy. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.
  4. Add the flour mixture, in 3 batches, alternating with the milk, and beat until combined, scraping down the sides of the bowl as required. Add the lemon extract and zest and beat to combine.
  5. Divide between the cases and bake for 18 to 20 minutes or until lightly golden and when a skewer inserted into the centre comes out clean. Cool in the tin for 4 to 5 minutes, then turn out onto wire racks to cool completely.
  6. Using a melon baller or a teaspoon, remove a scoop of cake from each cupcake. Fill each hollow with approximately 1 teaspoon of lemon curd.
  7. To make the meringue, place all of the ingredients in the top of a double boiler over medium heat and whisk continuously for 3 to 4 minutes, or until the mixture is hot to the touch and reaches 50°C on a candy thermometer.
  8. Remove the bowl and, using electric beaters, beat the mixture on high speed until glossy and stiff peaks form. Immediately cover each cupcake with meringue, using a spatula, then lightly toast with a kitchen blowtorch*.

* If you don’t have a blowtorch, you can brown the meringue by putting them under the grill/broiler on high heat for a minute or two. Watch them constantly though as they can burn quite quickly.

Recipe from the SBS Food website via Bitesize: 50 Macarons, Cakepops & Cute Things.

About Food Daydreaming

I follow new recipes perfectly the first couple of times and then I pull them apart and put them back together my way. My biggest pet peeve is when I follow a recipe to a tee and then it doesn't turn out the way it should... I end up growling in my kitchen and that's just not right ;)

8 responses to “Lemon Meringue Cupcakes

  1. Yumm! These look awesome! So fluffy, yummy and pretty ^^

  2. These look so delicious! They would ease any back-to-work blues!

  3. Pingback: Lemon Meringue Cupcakes from Food Daydreaming | Yum Goggle

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Food Daydreaming on WordPress.com
