Homemade Croissants

It’s croissant day, everyone!

I finally tackled croissants. They have been on my baking bucket list for a while now.

A long, long while.

IMG_5301

I have always loved croissants. I remember my family trying to entice me to try other bakery goodies when I was a kid, but I was always happiest biting into a crunchy croissant. Ecstatic even when there was time or the ability to toast them. Other than a bowl of mac and cheese on a stormy day, nothing is more comforting than a toasted cheese and tomato croissant…

Well, nothing was.

Biting into a homemade, fresh-from-the-oven croissant, where the outer crunch gives way to a still-warm, fluffy centre was quite a profound experience.

I recommend that every croissant lover makes them at least once in their lives.

Sure, you’ll be rolling and folding, and rolling and folding, and rolling and folding dough for a quite a while, maybe even days, but it’s worth the effort and the waiting.

IMG_5288

For my first foray into the world of croissants, I chose to go with David Lebovitz’s Whole Wheat Croissants recipe, mainly because you could not have a better teacher when it comes to pastry techniques, and partly because the recipe make 6 croissants, which is plenty for just me. However, I didn’t want my first croissant baking experience to be whole wheat, and since David’s notes mentioned that the recipe would work using all white flour, that is the only time I deviated from the recipe. Croissants are not difficult to make, they are just time consuming, and David has some beautiful instructional photos on his website of the rolling and folding steps.

IMG_5294

With the weekend fast approaching, why not extend croissant day and bake some fresh this weekend?

And we all know that croissants can be turned into delectable desserts, yes? We’re all nodding? If you need proof, just take a look at the caramel croissant pudding that’s up over at the New Recipe Night blog… You’re all in furious agreement now, aren’t you? Yes? I thought so…

So I humbly present these dessert-in-the-making offerings to Angie at The Novice Gardener and to all her co-hosts who help put together our Fiesta Friday parties.

Fiesta Friday Badge Button I party @

Happy Fiesta Friday Anniversary Part 2 everyone!

 

Homemade Croissants

  • Servings: makes 6 pastries
  • Print

IMG_5301

David says: ‘Making croissants isn’t hard; one just needs to follow the steps, which are 1) Make the yeasted dough day in advance and let it sit overnight, 2) The next day, make 3 “turns” of the pastry at various intervals, then 3) Shape, proof, and bake the croissants. The most important thing is not to let the butter get too soft. So when rolling and folding the dough, work quickly to get it back in the refrigerator’.

Ingredients

  • 280g white bread flour (preferably) or all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons active dry yeast
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 160ml whole or low-fat milk, very slightly warmed
  • 1 ¼ teaspoons sea salt
  • 160g unsalted butter, cold and cubed
  • 1 egg
  • pinch of salt

Method

Day 1

  1. In a small bowl, mix together the white and whole wheat flours. Prepare the dough by mixing the yeast with the milk and sugar in the bowl of a stand mixer, or stir it together in a large bowl. Stir in about one-third of the flour mixture and let the mixture stand until it starts to bubble, 10 to 15 minutes.
  2. Mix in the rest of the flour and the salt, and stir until all the ingredients are combined. Knead the dough on a lightly floured countertop a few times, just enough to bring it together into a cohesive ball, but do not over-knead. 10-15 seconds should do it.
  3. Put the dough in a bowl, cover with plastic wrap, and let the dough rest in the refrigerator overnight. (Or for at least 6 hours.)

Day 2

  1. Put the cold butter in the bowl of a stand mixer with the paddle attachment and beat on medium-high speed until there are no lumps in the butter, about 15 seconds. (If you don’t have a stand mixer, whack the butter with a rolling pin, turning it a few times, until it’s a cold paste.) Lay a piece of plastic wrap on the counter and place the butter in the middle. Enclose the butter and shape it into a 10 by 8cm rectangle. Chill the butter for 20 to 30 minutes.
  2. Remove the dough from the refrigerator. Roll the dough on a lightly floured countertop, so it forms a diamond shape with four flaps – two on top, two on the bottom, leaving the dough raised a bit in the centre.
  3. Unwrap the chilled rectangle of butter and place it in the centre. Fold the flaps over the butter, sealing the butter completely, and whack the dough with a rolling pin to flatten it out. Roll the dough into a 30 by 22cm rectangle.
  4. Lift up one-third of the left side of the dough and fold it over the centre. Then lift the right side of the dough over the centre, to create a rectangle. Take the rolling pin and press down on the dough two times, making an X across it. Mark the dough with one dimple with your finger to remind you that you’ve made one ‘turn’, wrap it in plastic wrap, and chill the dough for 45 to 60 minutes.
  5. Do the next turn of the dough the same way, rolling and folding the dough again, making 2 dimples with your finger in the dough, then chill it for another 45 to 60 minutes.

(The resting period between steps #4 and #5 can be longer in case you have other things to do. Feel free to let it rest a couple of hours between each turn. It’ll be fine.)

  1. Do the last turn and folding of the dough and let it chill for an hour. (The dough can be chilled overnight at this point, or frozen.)
  2. To shape the croissants, line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a silicone baking mat. Unwrap the dough and roll it out on a lightly floured countertop until it’s a 30 by 22cm rectangle. Trim the edges off with a sharp chef’s knife and cut the dough into 3 rectangles, then cut each rectangle diagonally, making 6 triangles. Take one triangle and roll to lengthen it to 28cm long. Starting at the wide end, roll the croissant up toward the point, not too-tightly. Set it point-side-up on the baking sheet and roll the rest of the croissants the same way.
  3. Cover the baking sheet with a large plastic bag (such as a clean trash bag), close it, and let the croissants proof in a warm place until the croissants are nearly doubled and puffed up, which will take 1 ½ to 2 hours. (If you wish, you can chill the rolled croissants overnight. Take them out of the refrigerator and let them proof in a warm place, as indicated.)
  4. Preheat the oven to 200ºC. Mix the egg with a pinch of salt and brush each croissant with the glaze. Bake the croissants for 5 minutes, then reduce the heat of the oven to 150ºC, and bake for 20 to 25 minutes, until browned. Some butter may seep out during baking, which is normal.

Recipe very, very slightly altered from David Lebovitz’s blog.

About Food Daydreaming

I follow new recipes perfectly the first couple of times and then I pull them apart and put them back together my way. My biggest pet peeve is when I follow a recipe to a tee and then it doesn't turn out the way it should... I end up growling in my kitchen and that's just not right ;)

69 responses to “Homemade Croissants

  1. Impressive and wow those sure do look amazing!!!

  2. I love croissants but I’ve never made them myself, I love the laminating of pastry dough though, I find it therapeutic haha! May have to try these out soon

  3. Your first croissants came out beautifully. Thank you so much for sharing! And, happy FF!

  4. Sue

    Totally impressed! Croissants have been on my list too and now you’ve given me some confidence. They look delicious and it is no surprise since David is the king of all things French and sweet!

    • Thanks! The only thing I will stress to you is to follow a recipe that you trust and understand. I promise, with the right recipe you will make perfect croissants.

  5. I’ve never made my own croissants because they intimidate me. Your croissants look like they came out of the bakery! Gorgeous and perfect for FF!

  6. wow I am impressed too I have never had the nerve to try this!

  7. Pingback: First Fiesta Friday Anniversary (Part 2) | The Novice Gardener

  8. These are gorgeous! I admire you for tackling them. I love croissants and can’t even imagine how good homemade ones would taste!

  9. Wowza! All that work and I let them go stale!! I can’t resist a croissant and these especially look delicious 🙂 and with a much lower volume of butter than I’d imagined! And thanks forte link : ):) 🙂 happy fiesta friday!

    • Ha, you didn’t really let them go stale, now did you? 🙂 I was surprised at the butter ratio too, way less than I initially thought!

      • They weren’t stale stale, but I left them in a plate all day so they were a bit tired…
        I’ve given up all shop bought pastries for lent, I was just about to make some and then I tried on a suit I need to wear for a wedding in four weeks, so no croissants for me! 😦 😦

  10. Bravo to you! I find even the idea of making croissants intimidating. I’m in awe over your stunning results! These look as perfect as any I’ve seen in a bakery, yet I imagine your homemade version taste even better. 🙂 Thanks for sharing your successful recipe with the Fiesta Friday Anniversary Party… they’re sure to be a hit!

  11. Ahhhh these are perfection in a croissant! Croissants have also been on my baking list for a long, long time. Makes me think that maybe I should tackle them too

  12. Just add my voice to the many who are just so impressed that you made your own croissants. Hats off to you! Lebovitz is a wonderful cook – I really enjoy his blog and it’s always great to know that his recipes will turn out – nothing worse than spending time and money making something that hasn’t been written up accurately! Thanks so much for sharing this with us at Fiesta Friday!

  13. That is Croissant heaven!! I am the happiest with a croissant in my hand too… I really want to give it a go at home… I tried it once and it was a failure. Maybe it’s time for me to try it again!

    • Yes, please try again and let me know how you go. I really can’t stress enough that David Lebovitz’s recipe is really easy to follow and produces great results 🙂

  14. WOW! I am super impressed!! Homemade croissants are on my bucket its too… the thought scares me a little!! They look PERFECT- Hats off to you!! 🙂

  15. Wow! Often wondered about making croissants but now that I’ve read your post, I will keep buying them. Quite an accomplishment and amazing so few humble ingredients could be transformed into something so sublime!

  16. Sandhya

    Wow! These look amazing! I can imagine the aroma filling your kitchen as they bake too!

  17. Very impressive, I have tried to make croissant dough once, years ago and very naively not taking the temperatures seriously resulting in a truely botched job. So, really great and inspiration to try again. Nicole xx

  18. I have made croissants so I know how much work goes into them, but how rewarding the results are. Yours turned out beautifully. I find the most important factor in croissants is to use pure cultured butter, which is sometimes hard to find, but is worth it. The other butters have less fat, and it is the fat content that makes them so beautiful and flaky.

    • Thanks so much! And that’s a good point about the butter. I use a butter that’s middle of the road – it’s real butter but it’s also not a high fat content butter. Provided that you’re not using margarine, you should end up with pretty good results!

  19. I love a good croissant and these look amazing! I definitely want to try making some of my own.

  20. They look delicious – an make me wonder why I have never given them a try! Happy FF!

  21. impressive and perfect 🙂

  22. Wow, amazing that you made croissant at home!! They look perfect and I can imagine how delicious they must be!

  23. Perfect croissants. Looks really nice.

  24. These look beautiful! I am really impressed–you are inspiring me to try making them!

  25. I am so jealous that you made your own croissants. :/ I should let someone kick my butt so I could stand up with my chin up high, maybe I’d get the courage to make my own as well. 😀 Your croissants are so lovely – ahhh, perfect for morning coffee.

    • Oh Jhuls, don’t be jealous! You have courage, but you don’t need it, you just need a good recipe. I’ll make them again with you – and we can put chocolate in half of them, then we’ll really have a treat for our morning coffee 🙂

  26. Such beautiful, fat croissants! 🙂 Very impressive!

  27. I think you’ve blown us all away with these home-made from scratch croissants. It must have been quite an undertaking, now you’ve got us all wanting to try it out, as you’ve made it sound so simple. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    • Thank you for stopping by and for you kind words. I think everyone who loves croissants should try making them from scratch at least once, they taste absolutely wonderful!

  28. I’m in love with them 😀

  29. Bravo! Homemade croissants is such amazing and absolutely delicious thing! Could you send me some next weekend please? 🙂
    Have a great week!

  30. petra08

    Croissants are one of my guilty pleasure! Yours looks golden, flaky and just delicious 🙂

  31. Pingback: Vanilla Scones with Strawberry Cream | Food Daydreaming

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Food Daydreaming on WordPress.com
