Hazelnut and Banana Dutch Baby Pancake

Happy Mardi Gras Day!

Happy Carnival!

Happy International Pancake Day!

For 2015, I’m celebrating International Pancake Day; mostly because I love pancakes, and maybe a little because I ran out of time and didn’t make king cake or crostoli. Soon…

Hazelnut and Banana Dutch Baby Pancake

I’ve always loved pancakes, and I would have them quite regularly if those I lived with liked them more. How can people not be fans of pancakes??? Although, even they have to admit that they did like the cinnamon apple pancakes that I made recently. And they loved the hazelnut and banana dutch baby pancake I made to celebrate the most important pancake day of the year.

Dutch baby pancakes, also known as a German pancake or a puffed pancake, are a larger, sweet and tasty breakfast version of popovers or Yorkshire puddings that have the consistency of a think pancake. Don’t be put off by the description… they have been around since the early half of the 1900s and they are a lovely and theatrical morning treat in the way that they rise and puff up in the frying pan.

Today may be International Pancake Day, but this whole week is Pancake Week, so make sure you get your fair share of pancakes, whether it be for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

Hazelnut and Banana Dutch Baby Pancake

  • Servings: 2 large to 4 small serves
  • Print

Hazelnut and Banana Dutch Baby Pancake

Ingredients

  • 20g butter (coarsely chopped)
  • 3 eggs
  • 185ml milk
  • 90g plain flour
  • 20g hazelnut meal
  • 3 teaspoons caster sugar
  • ½ teaspoon nutmeg (freshly grated)
  • Finely grated rind of 1 lemon

For Dusting

  • Icing sugar

To Serve

  • 1 banana (thickly sliced)
  • 2 scoops honey-malt, caramel, toffee or vanilla ice cream
  • Honey or maple syrup to taste (optional)
  • Coarsely chopped roasted hazelnuts (optional)

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 200°C. Place butter in a 22cm-diameter ovenproof frying pan and place in oven until butter melts and pan is very hot, about 3 to 4 minutes.
  2. Meanwhile, mix eggs, milk, flour, hazelnut meal, sugar, nutmeg and lemon rind with a whisk, immersion blender or in a food processor until smooth and combined.
  3. Carefully pour the batter into the hot pan and immediately return the pan to the oven. Bake until puffed and golden, around 20 to 25 minutes. The pancake is ready when the sides have risen and the centre is firm but springy to the touch.
  4. Serve hot, dusted with icing sugar and topped with banana, honey-malt, caramel, toffee or vanilla ice-cream, and honey if using, and then scatter with roasted hazelnuts.

Recipe from the Australian Gourmet Traveller website.

About Food Daydreaming

I follow new recipes perfectly the first couple of times and then I pull them apart and put them back together my way. My biggest pet peeve is when I follow a recipe to a tee and then it doesn't turn out the way it should... I end up growling in my kitchen and that's just not right ;)

8 responses to “Hazelnut and Banana Dutch Baby Pancake

  1. Love Dutch Baby pancakes. Your banana and hazelnut is dreamy!!

    • Honestly, it was the first Dutch baby pancake I had ever made and eaten! It was soooo good!! I have a recipe of one stuffed with apples that I want to try out… Want to be my taste tester??

  2. This sounds like a super-yummy pancake! 🙂

  3. I have never heard of this type of pancake before! I’m definitely going to try them out in the not too distant future 😀 thanks for sharing!

    • I’ve only recently learnt about Dutch baby pancakes as well, and I’m so glad that I’ve found them! Definitely give it a go as they are really tasty 🙂

  4. Hazelnut and bananas – what a winning combo!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Food Daydreaming on WordPress.com
