Zucchini Flower Pasta with Almonds and Fetta

So my next few posts are going to be more seasonal… Well, seasonal for my part of the world because zucchini flowers are everywhere at the moment, even at the supermarket. I suppose we can thank the ‘foodie’ movement for that.

Zucchini flowers are fleeting delights that starts to wither the moment they’re picked. You could even liken them to the mayfly, which only has one glorious day in the sun. Two if they’re really, really lucky. Even when you buy zucchini flowers from the green grocer or farmers’ market, there’s a definite droop by the time you get them home.

 

Zucchini Flower Pasta

 

Maybe this is why we’re so inspired by them. It most likely also the reason why we batter and fry them most of the time. One day, I will get some home fast enough to prepare and eat fresh and raw.

I think it’s time to ask my sister to plant some and give me the flowers… wonder if she’ll go for it?

However, until that day, I am happy to shallow fry the flowers to top a zucchini, fetta and almond pasta.

It’s also a perfectly light but substantial dish to bring to Fiesta Friday #57 , which Angie @ The Novice Gardener is hosting by her little lonesome this week. So let’s bring her lots of tasty food and come back on Wednesday to vote for our favourite dish.

Fiesta Friday Badge Button I party @

 

Zucchini Flower Pasta with Almonds and Fetta

Zucchini Flower Pasta

Ingredients

  • 12 zucchini flowers
  • 60ml extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 garlic cloves (minced)
  • 1 lemon (rind grated and juiced)
  • 375g large spiral pasta (traditional, wholemeal or vegetable)
  • ¼ cup diced almonds
  • 100g fetta (crumbled)

Method

  1. Detach the zucchini flowers from the baby zucchini and gently remove the stamens. Tear the flowers in half and thinly slice the baby zucchini into rounds. Set aside.
  2. Heat the oil in a frying pan over medium-high heat, add the zucchini flowers and cook until crisp, approximately 3 to 4 minutes. Remove the flowers with a slotted spoon and drain on absorbent paper. Set aside.
  3. Add the minced garlic to the oil and sauté until fragrant. Add the zucchini rounds and sauté for 2 to 3 minutes. Remove the pan from the heat, add the lemon rind and juice to taste and set aside.
  4. Meanwhile, cook the pasta in a large saucepan of boiling salted water until al dente. Drain the pasta and return it to the saucepan. Add the oil, garlic and zucchini mixture, diced almonds and ¾ of the fetta. Toss to combine.
  5. Divide the pasta among 4 bowls and serve scattered with the rest of the fetta and the fried zucchini flowers.

Recipe adapted from Emma Knowles as found on the SBS website.

About Food Daydreaming

I follow new recipes perfectly the first couple of times and then I pull them apart and put them back together my way. My biggest pet peeve is when I follow a recipe to a tee and then it doesn't turn out the way it should... I end up growling in my kitchen and that's just not right ;)

24 responses to “Zucchini Flower Pasta with Almonds and Fetta

  1. They wilt so quickly but are so delicious. I love your pasta dish!! It’s so simple and that’s always the best.

  2. I actually reserve a couple of my garden zucchini plants just for the flowers. Though my garden season is still a few months off, I’ve pinned your recipe for future use. 🙂 Looks delicious!

  3. Yum this pasta dish looks amazing!!!

  4. What a pretty dish. I am sure it is delicious. I love anything pasta!

  5. petra08

    Zucchini flowers are delicious, what a pretty pasta dish 🙂

  6. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #57 | The Novice Gardener

  7. Never cooked with zucchini flowers but i love the pasta and hence the idea of this dish.. saving this for making soon. Thanks for sharing on FF

  8. Love zucchini flowers but still several months away here. Love this recipe!

  9. skd

    What a vibrant looking pasta!!

  10. I make my own zucchini flower fritters too – your recipe looks delicious 🙂

  11. Pingback: Zucchini Flower Quiche – The Prettiest of all the Quiches | Food Daydreaming

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Food Daydreaming on WordPress.com
