Zucchini Flower Quiche – The Prettiest of all the Quiches

I cook more than I blog, so some of my food obsessions may not have become apparent yet; edamame, poblano peppers and zucchini flowers are just some of the food and ingredients I am, let’s say, fanatical about.

And you all know I love pasta. And cheese. And quiche.

And I’ve already posted a recipe combining zucchini flowers and pasta.

So here’s a zucchini flower quiche recipe!

Zucchini Flower Quiche

It was not my intention to post another zucchini flower recipe quite so soon, but I was shopping for a pomelo noodle salad when right next to the pomelos were zucchini flowers and heirloom dutch carrots.

I bought all three, took them home, and then spent a very pleasant hour (or two, or more) browsing a variety of recipes, ideas and photos until I stumbled across this one.

I give you my prettiest quiche to date.

Shared with the Fiesta Friday #59 gang hosted by Angie @The Novice Gardener, Jhuls @The Not So Creative Cook and Mila @milkandbun.

Zucchini Flower Quiche

  • Servings: Serves 4 to 6
  • Print

Zucchini Flower Quiche

Ingredients

Pastry

  • 250g plain flour
  • 125g unsalted butter (chilled and diced)
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 egg
  • 3 to 5 tablespoons cold water

Filling

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 3 (260g) leeks (white parts only, thinly sliced)
  • 1 garlic clove (finely chopped)
  • 1 tablespoon lemon rind (finely grated)
  • 60 ml dry white wine
  • 6 eggs (lightly beaten)
  • 125 ml milk
  • 120g Gruyère (coarsely grated)
  • 120g parmesan (grated)
  • 6 to 10zucchini flowers (stamens removed)
  • 1 tablespoon fresh thyme leaves

Method

  1. For the pastry, place the flour, butter and salt in a food processor and process until mixture resembles breadcrumbs. Add the egg and then gradually add the water until the mixture forms a ball.
  2. Remove the dough and knead on a lightly floured surface for 30 seconds. Shape the dough into a disc, wrap it in cling film and refrigerate for 30 minutes.
  3. To make the pie, roll out the pastry in a large circle to 5mm thickness. Roll the pastry over the rolling pin and unroll it over a 28cm loose-bottomed quiche or tart tin. Lift the pastry into the tin and tuck it against the sides tightly. Cut off the excess pastry by rolling the pin over the top edge of the tin. Gently press the base of the pastry tart again.
  4. Prick the base with a fork, cover loosely with cling film and refrigerate again for 30 minutes.
  5. Remove the quiche base from the refrigerator and line with baking paper. Fill with baking weights, dried beans or raw rice and blind bake for 10 minutes in a preheated oven at 170°C.
  6. Remove the quiche base from the oven and remove the baking paper and weights. Return quiche tin to the oven and bake for a further 15 minutes or until the base is golden an no longer doughy.
  7. For the filling, heat the olive oil in a large frying pan, add the leek, garlic and lemon rind, and cook over medium heat for 3-5 minutes or until the leek is soft. Add the wine and simmer for 3-4 minutes or until it’s absorbed, season to taste with sea salt and freshly ground black pepper, then cool.
  8. Lightly beat eggs and milk in a bowl. Add the leek mixture, Gruyère and parmesan and season to taste.
  9. Pour the mixture in the quiche case. Top with the zucchini flowers, pressing them into the leek mixture gently, and then scatter with thyme.
  10. Cook the quiche at 190°C for 25 to 30 minutes or until top is golden and firm. Serve warm or cold with a crisp green salad.

Recipe by Andy Harris via the Gourmet Traveller website.

About Food Daydreaming

I follow new recipes perfectly the first couple of times and then I pull them apart and put them back together my way. My biggest pet peeve is when I follow a recipe to a tee and then it doesn't turn out the way it should... I end up growling in my kitchen and that's just not right ;)

22 responses to “Zucchini Flower Quiche – The Prettiest of all the Quiches

  1. Wonderful! I would love to eat this. Perfect picnic fare. Scratch that – perfect anytime fare! I wish I could grow my own courgettes in order to secure regular supply of flowers. And feel free to share some poblano-including recipes, would be great to see some. We recently spent a few days in Portugal where poblano was all over the menus, but I’ve never used them myself. Really liking your posts these days!

    • Thank you, you are very sweet! This quiche was surprisingly yummy and was great cold as well, so yep, perfect for a picnic. I will definitely post some poblano pepper recipes soon, promise!

  2. Quiche is on the menu today, love your zucchini blossoms, it’s beautiful. I don’t have zucchini blossoms so am doing spring leek, asparagus and chanterelle mushrooms. Quiche is such a wonderful meal.

  3. That IS a pretty quiche!! I wasn’t sure if I was going to plant zucchini again this year, or any squash. They tend to take over and you can only eat so much zucchini! But I’m having second thought after seeing this! Those cute little zucchini flowers are just too irresistible! 🙂

    • Thanks Miss Angie! I’m trying to get my sister to plant some… our balcony faces the wrong way and everything just burns to a crisp. I mourn my herbs every year. But yes, I see the zucchini flowers at the market and I just can’t help but buy them, so if you can grow them, more power to you! They’d be fresher too!!

  4. This is absolutely beautiful! If you’re enjoying it than we want to see all your zucchini flower creations, especially as they evolve. You’ll be a pro with all the foods your fanatical about over time. Happy FF, and have a wonderful weekend! 😀

  5. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #59 | The Novice Gardener

  6. Me, too – I cook more than I blog. There are still many yummy foods that need to be shared. But forget about that as I am enjoying this quiche at this very moment. 😀 Happy FF and enjoy! xx

  7. I’ve never had zucchini flowers before, but this quiche looks awesome, so pretty!

  8. This looks and sounds wonderful!

  9. That looks amazing! If I did it the courgettes would all be burnt!

  10. This really is a looker – a stunner, in fact so it’s good to know that it tastes delicious too. I shall be watching out for small flowers this year and give this a try! Happy Fiesta Friday!

  11. I always love to see flowers in a dish. This quiche looks lovely!

  12. I wish I had a huge slice of that quiche right now! Awesome pic too!

  13. I can’t wait until it is time to plant, still a couple of months away. I love picking zucchini when they are tiny with the flowers still attached. It also helps prevent a glut.

  14. This looks like such a wonderful recipe – I love zucchini flowers they look so pretty in this quiche! Lovely!

  15. Pingback: Zucchini Flower Quiche from Food Daydreaming | Yum Goggle

  16. What a beautiful way to use zucchini flowers! I have never tried cooking with the flowers before. I also love poblano peppers. They are very popular here in Arizona. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

  17. petra08

    Zucchini flowers are so delicious and this is a lovely recipe.Quiche is always great, I don’t make it often enough!

  18. aww.. this quiche is really so cutsy looking ! i am so eager to bake one myself and dive into it. Thanks for bringing it to FF ! 🙂

  19. Looks amazing, if only zucchini flowers weren’t so expensive!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Food Daydreaming on WordPress.com
