Pomelo Noodle Salad

As I made this salad, my own internal voice kept cautioning me. And I kept picking up the pomelo and sniffing it, knowing it was a pomelo, but nervous about the very distinct grapefruit aroma that was coming from the skin. I also checked the medicine basket a few times, just to make sure that there were antihistamines in the house.

I love, love, love grapefruit, but unfortunately, grapefruit does not love me. It’s been a long time, but I still stop and sniff a grapefruit every now and then, look at it longingly and then glumly put it back, knowing I can’t eat it.

Pomelo Noodle Salad

The rest of the citrus family loves me, but pomelo, probably a very close cousin to the ruby red grapefruit, has that same, unique smell, which worried me a little. Obviously not enough to find a substitute or to make something else entirely… What was I supposed to do? I had a large, fresh pomelo and beautiful recipe from 101 Cookbooks to follow. It was all happening.

I adore this site by Heidi Swanson. She creates beautiful and wholesome foods and her photographs are striking, comforting and wistful. And I think the premise of her site resonates with most of us: ‘When you own over 100 cookbooks, it is time to stop buying, and start cooking’.

It’s a charming website, and I encourage you all to take a look while I go and help myself to more ponzu-flavoured noodles topped with pomelo, edamame and peanuts.

Shared with the Fiesta Friday #60 partiers hosted by Angie @The Novice GardenerTracy @Scratch It Cook and Nancy @Feasting With Friends.

Pomelo Noodle Salad

  • Servings: Serves 4 to 6
  • Print

Pomelo Noodle Salad

Ingredients

  • 170g dried somen or soba noodles
  • 220g shelled edamame
  • 2 big handfuls salad or micro greens
  • ½ teaspoon toasted sesame oil
  • a few tablespoons of ponzu sauce (to taste)*
  • 2/3 cup toasted peanuts
  • ½ a medium pomelo (segmented)
  • Garlic or chive flowers, or chopped chives to serve (optional)

Method

  1. Bring a large saucepan of water to a boil, salt well, and cook the noodles as per the package instructions. When the noodles are almost ready, add the edamame, about 2 to 3 minutes.
  2. Remove from the heat, drain, rinse well with cold water to stop the cooking, and shake off as much residual water as possible.
  3. Transfer the noodles and edamame to a large serving bowl along with the salad greens. Add the toasted sesame oil and ponzu sauce and toss well to coat. Be generous, but careful with the ponzu sauce as the noodles really absorb the sauce. Finish with the peanuts and pomelo segments.
  4. Taste, and take a bit of time to really consider if any adjustments should be made – more sauce, more sesame oil, etc. Top with garlic or chive flower, or chopped chives and serve.

Recipe by Heidi Swanson from 101 Cookbooks.

* Ponzu sauce is a citrus-based soy sauce used a lot in Japanese cuisine.

About Food Daydreaming

I follow new recipes perfectly the first couple of times and then I pull them apart and put them back together my way. My biggest pet peeve is when I follow a recipe to a tee and then it doesn't turn out the way it should... I end up growling in my kitchen and that's just not right ;)

27 responses to “Pomelo Noodle Salad

  1. I am so lucky not to have any allergies, but at least you can have some other citrus rather than none. This salad looks lovely.

  2. Love this salad! I got a pomelo from my organic basket and I didn’t know what to do it… so thanks for sharing!

  3. Ooooh I’ve never had Pomelo but I must now!! This salad looks like the PERFECT salad for the first day of Spring!! Thanks so much for bringing it to FF! 😀

  4. Looks delicious! I would love to slurp up some of those delicious noodles. Thanks for sharing with all of us at Fiesta Friday. 🙂 But…you left us hanging… Was an antihistamine needed?? I hope not!

  5. Did you have any problems with the pomelo? This dish looks so fresh and spring like!

  6. Oh that sounds delicious! I’m sorry that you can’t eat grapefruit, but I’m glad that other citrus are okay.
    I agree, especially the californian pomelos have a stunning resemblance to grapefruits, and sometimes they’re a bit pink inside as well…still, my favourite pomelo is when they’re pale and not too sweet and a bit dry 🙂

    • I agree, and this pomelo was perfect, dry enough to be able to separate but a lovely pale pink and tart in flavour. It really was a delicious salad, too bad I’ll have to wait for the next pomelo season to make it again 🙂

  7. Your salad makes my mouth water! Sounds so refreshing! I’ve been craving all kinds of citrus lately, not sure why, lol!

    • Thanks, Miss Angie! It was very refreshing and tasty. I think because spring was headed your way you were looking for lighter, fresher flavours… it’s officially cold here now though, so I’ll be living vicariously through all the northern hemisphere recipes 🙂

  8. This salad looks yummy! I’ve never had pomelo before, I have to try it! I’m not allergic to grapefruit but I can’t have it as it interacts badly with some of my medications, I love it though 😦 Perhaps pomelo is the answer!

    • I feel your pain, Michelle! I’m not sure how similar the two fruits are but maybe there’s enough of a chemical difference so that you can a bit of pomelo – it actually got rid of the grapefruit craving I was having, they’re that similar in flavour. I hope you find some, and let me know how you go 🙂

  9. How did you do with it allergy wise? I’ve never thought of grapefruit or pomelo with noodles. It’s an intriguing combination.

    Did you serve it room temperature or cold or warm?

    • I was just fine, thanks Liz! It was an intriguing combination but the pomelo was a sweet and tangy burst of flavour amidst all the texture. It was lovely. I served this at room temperature.

  10. Lovely! I am such a fan of soba noodles but have used them in such few dishes. This looks super fresh & tasty 🙂

  11. Never tried Pomelo but i think now i will.. and will make this salad soon ! Thanks

  12. What a refreshing salad! Thanks for sharing! Thank God you are allergic only to Grapefruit and can still enjoy the other citrus fruits.

  13. Sandhya

    This salad looks so good. I love pomelo, noodles and ponzu sauce…will make salad for sure!

  14. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #61 | Fiesta Friday

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Food Daydreaming on WordPress.com
