Easter Egg Muffins

And here is this year’s Easter dessert post…

My sister tells me that I have broken my nephew’s heart. And all it took was a group message to the three kids telling them that I’m not doing Easter eggs this year.

Is that cruel?

Some might think so.

Easter Egg Muffins

But they are not bubbies any more, and they certainly don’t need me to buy them Easter eggs, which for the record, I have not done in many years; instead, they would get a box of their favourite chocolates.

This year is a little different though. All of us are driving up to visit my eldest niece, who is studying interstate. All of us, that is, except for my nephew, who is staying home to work.

So you see, I wouldn’t have seen him to give him chocolate anyhow. He will still end up with a startling amount of Easter chocolate that may or may not get eaten.

easter muffins 2

But I will make amends with my nephew and offer him some Easter Egg Muffins that hold in their centre a baked and melty-gooey mini Easter egg. Baked good always make things better.

Easter Egg Muffins

  • Servings: Makes 12 muffins
  • Print

easter muffins 2

Ingredients

  • 2 ¼ cups self-raising flour
  • ¾ cup caster sugar
  • 1 egg
  • ½ cup vegetable oil
  • ¾ cup milk
  • 12 mini chocolate Easter eggs (unwrapped)
  • ¼ cup vanillin sugar (plus extra, for dusting)

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 160°C. Line twelve 1/3-cup capacity non-stick muffin pans with paper patty cases.
  2. Sift flour into a bowl and stir in the sugar then make a well in the centre. Combine egg, oil and milk in a different bowl or jug and then pour the mixture into the well. Using a large metal spoon, stir until just combined. Do not over mix.
  3. Spoon ¾ of the mixture into prepared cases. Press an Easter egg into the centre of each muffin making sure it does not touch the bottom.
  4. Spoon over remaining batter, making sure to cover the Easter eggs completely. Sprinkle the tops of the muffins liberally with vanillin sugar (approximately ½ teaspoon per muffin).
  5. Bake for 20 minutes or until the muffins are light golden and spring back when lightly pressed at centre. Stand in pan for 2 minutes before turning out onto a wire rack. Serve warm.

Note: The muffins are best eaten on the day that they are baked. Once cooled, they can be individually wrapped in plastic wrap and frozen for up to three months. All the muffins to defrost and enjoy them either at room temperature or warmed briefly in the microwave.

Recipe from Tracey Meharg from Taste.com.au.

About Food Daydreaming

I follow new recipes perfectly the first couple of times and then I pull them apart and put them back together my way. My biggest pet peeve is when I follow a recipe to a tee and then it doesn't turn out the way it should... I end up growling in my kitchen and that's just not right ;)

9 responses to “Easter Egg Muffins

  1. This will definitely cheer up your nephew! What a happy little surprise in the middle. I still feel like I have to give my baby sister an Easter bunny and she’s 50 :). Have a great Easter!

  2. What a lovely treat for the Easter season! 😀

  3. I like the surprise in the middle too, and the fact that the egg should go in ‘unwrapped’!! 🙂 Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  4. I love these muffins- the surprise in the middle is awesome. Happy Easter and FF 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Food Daydreaming on WordPress.com
