Torta Pasqualina – A Savoury Easter Pie of Silverbeet, Ricotta and Eggs

Easter for me has always been about family and food.

And on the occasions when my sister hosts Easter lunch, it’s all about paring back her menu to a manageable amount that won’t leave her with mounds and mounds of leftovers.

Savoury Easter Pie

I tend to bake or cook Easter food from different countries and cultures to bring along to Easter lunch. Mostly because I’ve found a recipe I want to try, in part because I really don’t like the traditional Easter bread my family makes unless it’s three days old, toasted and slathered in butter, and a tiny little bit because I like to know there’s a safe vegetarian option for me and my youngest niece.

I’ve been holding onto a chocolate babka recipe for almost a year now, in anticipation for Easter, but not all plans work out as expected. In fact, the babka idea and post flew out the window the minute I saw a recipe for Easter pie in the latest Delicious magazine.

So, I’m assuming you’ve had your cocktails, your amuse bouches and are now ready for your Easter lunch starter: Torta Pasqualina.

Happy Easter everyone!

Torta Pasqualina (Savoury Easter Pie)

  • Servings: Serves 8 as a starter or 4 as a main
  • Print

Savoury Easter Pie

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 garlic clove (bruised)
  • 2 bunches silverbeet (thick white stalks discarded, leaves finely chopped)
  • 400g ricotta (drained)
  • 1 teaspoon grated nutmeg
  • Finely grated zest of ½ a lemon
  • 50g grated parmesan
  • 50g grated pecorino
  • 7 eggs
  • 375g frozen puff pastry (thawed)

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 200°C. Grease a 26cm springform cake pan.
  2. Heat the oil in a large frying pan with a lid over high heat. Cook the garlic for 30 seconds or until fragrant . Add the silverbeet and cover with the lid. Cook for 3 to 4 minutes until wilted. Season with salt and set aside to cool. Remove the garlic and discard. Drain the silverbeet in a colander, pressing down to remove the excess liquid.
  3. Combine the silverbeet, ricotta, nutmeg, lemon zest, grated cheeses and 2 eggs in a large bowl. Season and set aside.
  4. Roll out the pastry on a lightly floured surface to a 5mm thickness. Line the base and 4cm up the side of the springform pan to form a rim. Cut the remaining pastry into four, 26cm-long strips and set aside.
  5. Spoon the ricotta mixture onto the pastry, smoothing the surface with the back of a spoon. Make four, evenly spaced indents in the filling, then carefully crack one egg into each indentation.
  6. Arrange the pastry strips in a criss-cross pattern over the filling to create 4 to 8 wedges.
  7. Lightly beat the remaining egg and brush it over any exposed pastry. Place the springform pan onto a baking tray and bake for 40 to 45 minutes until puffed, golden and crisp.

Recipe by Silvia Colloca.

About Food Daydreaming

I follow new recipes perfectly the first couple of times and then I pull them apart and put them back together my way. My biggest pet peeve is when I follow a recipe to a tee and then it doesn't turn out the way it should... I end up growling in my kitchen and that's just not right ;)

17 responses to “Torta Pasqualina – A Savoury Easter Pie of Silverbeet, Ricotta and Eggs

  1. I make this every year at Easter. It’s delicious and yours looks great! 🙂

  2. Mmm, this looks delicious! The eggs baked on top look so tempting as well 🙂
    I shall have to remember this once the beet greens and swiss chard starts building up!!

    • Thanks! Baked eggs may look rubbery but they are soft and perfectly cooked. Oh and beet greens sound like a lovely substitute for the silverbeet, I will have to remember that!

  3. I’ve never hear of silver beets! This torta looks gorgeous and delicious.

  4. I made something similar to this a couple years ago and it was delicious. I’m sure your version is too!

  5. Full of rich cheesy goodness- this is awesome, thanks for bringing to the party 😀

  6. Looks lovely… Every time I see your pie I think I should make it…! Yum! 🙂

  7. This is new to me, it looks great 😀 happy Easter!

  8. Never heard of silver beets but this pie looks sceumptious!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Food Daydreaming on WordPress.com
