Fresh Tomato, Red Pesto and Cream Pasta – AKA Compromise Pasta

After a very long and sad week, which culminated in a very long and sad day, all I wanted was to go home, change into my pjs and eat a big bowl of hot, comforting pasta.

I settled on what a friend and I call compromise pasta as it’s a simple dish, but a very tasty and homely dish that I’ve been cooking for many years now.

Fresh Tomato, Red Pesto and Cream Pasta

We call it compromise pasta because I prefer white pasta sauces and he prefers the red ones. This recipe combines them both, a red base with a creamy texture.

It is simplicity and satisfaction.

I’m sharing this comforting bowl of pasta with the Fiesta Friday #64 gang, created by Angie @The Novice Gardener, whose co-hosts this week are Ginger & Bread and Safari Of The Mind. Good food and good people is just what the end of this week needs. Happy eating everyone!

 

Fresh Tomato, Red Pesto and Cream Pasta

  • Servings: serves 4 to 6 toasties
  • Print

Fresh Tomato, Red Pesto and Cream Pasta

Ingredients

  • 500g penne (or any kind of short pasta)
  • 6 large, ripe tomatoes (cored and roughly chopped) *
  • 1 to 2 tablespoons of powdered vegetable (or chicken) stock (to taste as their saltiness varies)
  • 300 ml thickened cream
  • 200g sundried tomato pesto **
  • ¼ cup parmesan cheese (preferably fresh, finely grated)

Method

  1. Cook the pasta as per the packet’s directions, but make sure to not add any oil to the water. Drain when cooked.
  2. Meanwhile, add the chopped tomatoes to a heavy-based, large frying pan and cook over medium heat until they begin to soften. Add the powdered stock and stir to combine.
  3. When the tomatoes have softened, add the thickened cream and the sundried tomato pesto and stir to incorporate the pesto. Check the seasoning and add more salt if needed. Bring back to gentle simmer.
  4. While the sauce is still simmering, add the cooked pasta and gently mix until all the pasta is coated in some sauce.
  5. Scatter the parmesan cheese over the top, stir once more and serve hot with a crisp salad.

* You could peel the tomatoes if you really wanted to, but I have found that keeping the skin on does not impact this recipe, in fact, it adds a bit more texture to the sauce.

** Use the thickest sundried tomato pesto that you can find. You don’t want to add unnecessary liquid to the pasta sauce. If need be, drain the excess oil from a runner sundried tomato pesto and then add it the tomato and cream mixture.

About Food Daydreaming

I follow new recipes perfectly the first couple of times and then I pull them apart and put them back together my way. My biggest pet peeve is when I follow a recipe to a tee and then it doesn't turn out the way it should... I end up growling in my kitchen and that's just not right ;)

18 responses to “Fresh Tomato, Red Pesto and Cream Pasta – AKA Compromise Pasta

  1. Wow – that’s what I call comfort food! Perfect for weekday nights, too, as it is so quick and easy to prepare. Thanks for sharing!

  2. This looks like the meal I want to eat for dinner. Sounds delicious. Happy FF. xx

  3. What a great dish! I love the name you picked! 🙂

  4. Comfort food at it’s best! Chuckled at your ‘Compromise’ pasta. 🙂

  5. This looks delicious, creamy red sauces are my favourite type! I’m sorry you had a bad day but this definitely looks like the best comfort food for it!

    • There’s something very satisfying and moreish about creamy red sauces, isn’t there? Thanks Michelle, a bowl of this, a blanket and trashy tv made it all better!

  6. Sinfully Tempting

    This is wonderful! I prefer white sauces, as does my son. The DH prefers red. This is a great way to please everyone! Thanks for sharing it at Fiesta Friday! 🙂

  7. Try it and let me know what your DH thinks, but I’m sure you and your son will love it. Happy FF to you too!

  8. I love love love the name of the dish… hubby and I have to compromise quite a bit as we have different food tastes 🙂 This pasta looks delicious. Happy FF!

  9. Super quick and easy dish. Luv it. 🙂

  10. But what happened? Why are you sad? But that was last week… I hope it’s better this week! Remember FF65 tomorrow! Or today for you! 😀

  11. Lovely quick and easy dish which would go down well in our house no doubt… it’s all about compromise with a vegan, a meat & carbs muncher, gluten free food and an almost vegetarian! 😛 Sorry to hear about your friend but glad to see you’re already getting on with things 🙂 hugs

  12. petra08

    A compromising comfort food, I love it! A bowl of comfort 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Food Daydreaming on WordPress.com
