Vanilla Scones with Strawberry Cream

Have you ever thought about how many different kinds of scones there are? There are sweet scones, like white chocolate and strawberry, herb and cheese savoury scones, fruit-filled scones, butter scones, pumpkin scones, lemonade scones, buttermilk scones, lovely sounding crème fraiche scones that Kitsch n flavours just posted… I could continue for days…

Scones have never really liked me. I can make soufflés and bake croissants, but every scone recipe I’ve tried has ended in disaster.

Vanilla Scones

I have a friend who can speedily and effortlessly whip up a batch of scones without thought. Whilst also cooking lunch. And bread. And happily chatting and drinking wine. She is very skilled at multitasking…

She’s even walked me through her recipe and watched me make it and still has no idea how I messed them up time and time again.

They tasted fine, but boy did they look awful.

Recently, I had to take a morning tea/afternoon tea type treat to an event, and I figured it was the perfect time to try making scones again, and shock horror, they actually turned out pretty well! They tasted great and rose beautifully and evenly, and because these particular scones contain no butter or milk, they were still great the next day.

So seeing as how I am now free from the scone curse, I’m off to experiment with other types of scones and offer these ones up to the Fiesta Friday #70 party. Angie @The Novice Gardener, Dini @Giramuk’s Kitchen and Mollie @The Frugal Hausfrau are your co-hosts this week so it should be a great get-together.

Vanilla Scones with Strawberry Cream

  • Servings: makes 20 to 24 scones
  • Print

Vanilla Scones

Ingredients for Vanilla Scones

  • 4 cups self-raising flour
  • 1 tablespoon caster sugar
  • 1 cup thickened cream
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla bean paste (or vanilla essence)
  • A few tablespoons of milk
  • 2 tablespoons icing sugar (to serve)

Ingredients for Strawberry Cream

  • ¼ cup strawberry jam
  • 1 ½ cups whipped cream
  • 150g fresh strawberries (roughly chopped)

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 190°C. Line a flat baking tray with baking paper and set aside.
  2. Sift flour, sugar and a pinch of salt into a large bowl. Create a well in the centre and set aside.
  3. In a separate bowl, combine cream, milk and vanilla. Pour the mixture into the dry ingredients and stir with a flat-bladed knife to combine.
  4. Turn the dough out onto a lightly floured surface and knead gently until smooth.
  5. Pat the dough out to a 2.5cm-thick round. Using a 5cm scone cutter, cut 12 scones from the dough. Gently press the remaining dough together and repeat.
  6. Place the scones on the prepared tray, allowing a little room for spreading. Using a pastry brush, gently brush some milk on the tops and sides of the scones and then bake for 12 to 15 minutes or until golden.
  7. Remove the scones from the oven, cover with a clean tea towel and stand scones on tray for 10 minutes.
  8. To make the strawberry cream, stir the jam in a bowl until slightly softened. Add the cream and half the strawberries and gently fold through until just combined.
  9. Split scones in half. Top the bases with a dollop of strawberry cream, the remaining strawberries and the scone tops. Dust with icing sugar and serve.

Recipe by Julie Jansen from taste.com.

About Food Daydreaming

I follow new recipes perfectly the first couple of times and then I pull them apart and put them back together my way. My biggest pet peeve is when I follow a recipe to a tee and then it doesn't turn out the way it should... I end up growling in my kitchen and that's just not right ;)

8 responses to “Vanilla Scones with Strawberry Cream

  1. You have made my absolute favourite scones right here!! I like the fancy ones… with the salty sweet combos… don’t get my wrong! But I ALWAYS inevitably end up making and devouring a delicious, soft plain scone with a good helping of strawberry jam and cream on the side!! It just tastes SO GOOD!
    I used to get scones wrong too! 🙂 I grate the butter and have all my ingredients in the freezer for a few hours before making them. My hands get really hot, so it helps to have my ingredients super cold (or frozen for butter!)
    So glad you were able to make them too! Thank you so much for sharing this with us! Happy FF! 🙂

  2. Those look like perfectly okay scones to me (not that I’m an expert). Scones don’t look that attractive – or at least mine don’t. But with jam and cream they are so good. Thanks for the mention, BTW.

  3. Yum!! That combination of the scones and cream is so classic & so delicious!

  4. Beautiful scones–I really should try to find some vanilla paste sometimes as that sounds just perfect in these scones! Scones (and biscuits and biscotti) are some of the things I sometimes mess up because I get very, very into the kneading…and make everything into bread. The biscotti incident was interesting–I wouldn’t have noticed if my sister hadn’t been forming the other half of the biscotti dough, but when they were baked, hers was like a stiff, cakey cookie, and mine was undeniably like bread.

  5. i love simple scones best but these are very good looking – if given a choice I’d always go for simple though

  6. I am a sucker for any scone and these look amazing – especially all dolled up like that! Scones should never be too pretty as far as I’m concerned! Happy FF!

  7. Pingback: Strawberry and White Chocolate Scones | Food Daydreaming

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Food Daydreaming on WordPress.com
