Maple-Baked Nectarine Crostini with Mozzarella, Basil and Raspberry Balsamic Vinegar

How do we really feel about imported fruit and vegetables?

Do we really and truly buy fresh produce because we want to support the community and our local growers? Because it is better for us? Because it’s better quality? Because it’s the right thing to do?

Yep, these are all good reasons. Personally, I prefer to buy local produce so that I can cook seasonal meals, from the comfort foods of winter to the beautiful fruit-inspired summer mains and everything in between.

And to be perfectly honest, the wait for seasonal delicacies is part of the appeal.

Baked Nectarine Crostini

I did buy imported nectarines the other day. I saw them and instantly remembered all of the summer dishes that I never got around to making before the stone fruit season had come to an end.

They weren’t great like middle of the season nectarines, but they weren’t bad either. And since I knew I was going to bake them, I only felt the tiniest, teeniest bit guilty for buying imported fruit.

So, moral of the story, it’s pretty much in everyone’s best interest to buy fresh and local produce. But if it’s available, and it’s tasty, and you really, really want to make something, it’s okay to sometimes buy some imported goodies.

I’m sharing these baked nectarine crostinis with the Fiesta Friday #73 gang, created by Angie @The Novice Gardener, and this week co-hosted by the lovely Michelle @Giraffes Can Bake and very sweet Juju @ cookingwithauntjuju.

Maple-Baked Nectarine Crostini with Mozzarella, Basil and Raspberry Balsamic Vinegar

  • Servings: makes 8 crostini
  • Print

Baked Nectarine Crostini

Ingredients

  • 4 nectarines (stone removed, quartered)
  • 2 tablespoons of maple syrup
  • 8 pieces of sourdough bread
  • 2 fresh mozzarella balls (cut into 8 thick slices)
  • 8 large basil leaves
  • Raspberry balsamic vinegar to drizzle (or balsamic vinegar)

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 200°C.
  2. Place the nectarine quarters cut side down in a baking dish, drizzle with maple syrup, and bake for 15 minutes or until just tender.
  3. Meanwhile, lightly toast the slices of sourdough.
  4. Top each piece of sourdough with a slice of mozzarella, a basil leaf and two pieces of baked nectarines. Drizzle with raspberry balsamic vinegar and serve warm.

About Food Daydreaming

I follow new recipes perfectly the first couple of times and then I pull them apart and put them back together my way. My biggest pet peeve is when I follow a recipe to a tee and then it doesn't turn out the way it should... I end up growling in my kitchen and that's just not right ;)

16 responses to “Maple-Baked Nectarine Crostini with Mozzarella, Basil and Raspberry Balsamic Vinegar

  1. Mmm, these crostini look amazing! I love that it’s a twist on the traditional caprese flavors. So summery and lovely!

  2. This looks like a great flavor combination. I don’t eat bread so I think I’ll flip my nectarines over and put the basil and mozzarella on top and bake. Thanks for the inspiration.
    Tracey

  3. I agree with you 100% about buying local and making recipes when the ingredients are in season. But of course there are those times… What a tasty looking recipe with so many ingredients I like – I will be trying this out on my grill. Thanks so much for bringing this to Fiesta Friday #73 🙂

  4. You can buy raspberry balsamic?! I can’t even find plain ol’ raspberry vinegar here any more. Boohoo&hiss. As for buying imported fruit, I really don’t have the option as most stone fruit (apart from plums) aren’t grown here. So, my new apricot and chamomile tart has apricots from France and Spain. Besides that, aren’t roasted / pan-fried nectarines the best!

    • Sorry Sir, but yes, I can buy raspberry balsamic here… can you order some online?? And yes, it can be difficult to by locally produced fruit when they don’t grow them in your area. But you have French apricots and that makes your tart very chic indeed 🙂

  5. This looks amazing! I love the combination of flavours 🙂

  6. Wow, these look absolutely divine, I am drooling a tad! Season, local fruit is always best but sometimes you just can’t wait! Especially here in the UK where the climate isn’t always the best for summer fruits – I bought some peaches from Spain last week which were really yummy so I was happy. At least Britain has wonderful, local strawberries!
    Thanks so much for sharing these with us at Fiesta Friday!

    • Thank you Michelle! Sometimes you just have to buy what is available, and as long as they’re yummy, or suitable for baking, we’re mostly happy, aren’t we? 🙂

  7. I love this!! I love the flavour combo and would LOVE to have this for lunch or dinner! It looks amazing!

    I have to admit to buying imported fruits… there aren’t alot of different fruits locally grown where I live right now, and miss some fruits I’ve grown up eating, so I would get them whenever they are available/imported!

    • Thanks, they really were tasty! I’ve lived here my whole life, so it’s the new and more exotic fruits I tend to buy. It would suck not being able to get ingredients you grew up with and miss, so you should always grab them when you see them!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Food Daydreaming on WordPress.com
