Spiced Haloumi and Pea Fritters and a Tribute to Selma

It seems that every other person has a blog nowadays.

Some start up because they need a creative outlet. Others are looking for notoriety. Still others just want a little piece of space, carved out just for them and their thoughts.

I started my little food blog at a time when they were already a dime a dozen. I had no new idea, not fantastic, paradigm-shifting approach to creating or sharing recipes. I just wanted a little creative outlet and a place to keep track of my efforts, achievements, and which recipes in the mounds and mounds of magazine cutouts, cook books and web links were the ones worth cooking again.

What I never thought I would encounter when I started was a community of like-minded people who were so sweet and nurturing. A group of people that were unbelievably kind and supportive, even to one who mostly just lurked in the shadows and only popped up every now and then to shyly say hi before going into hiding again.

Spiced Haloumi and Pea Fritters
Amongst this beautiful community was a lady who I formed a bond with over haloumi, of all things. Selma @Selma’s Table was always there, encouraging all of us with her kind words and sweet nature, and we’re all deeply saddened to hear of her passing. I will miss her wicked sense of humour and her heartfelt advice.

These haloumi fritters are not the ones we first bonded over, but they are the ones I’ve made to honour Selma. A huge thank you (and even bigger hugs) to Angie @Fiesta Friday, Jhuls @The Not So Creative Cook, Elaine @Foodbod and Sue @birgerbird for putting together this space for all of us to remember Selma.

Spiced Haloumi and Pea Fritters with Avocado Salsa

  • Servings: makes 12 to 16 fritters
  • Print

Spiced Haloumi and Pea Fritters

Ingredients

  • 250g frozen peas
  • 125ml milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 30g cornflour
  • 100g plain flour
  • ½ teaspoon baking powder
  • 180g haloumi (half finely grated, half cut into 1cm cubes)
  • 3 scallions (finely sliced)
  • Zest and juice of half a lime
  • 1 tablespoon ground coriander
  • ½ teaspoon dried chilli flakes
  • Vegetable oil (for shallow frying)
  • 1 Avocado
  • ¼ cup fresh coriander (finely chopped)

Method

  1. Boil the peas in salted water for 2 minutes, then drain. Refresh under cold water, then drain again. Roughly mash half of the peas with a fork and then set aside.
  2. In a different bowl, whisk together the milk, eggs, flours and baking powder until combined and smooth. Fold in the peas, haloumi, scallions, lime zest, coriander and chilli flakes. Season with salt and pepper.
  3. Heat the vegetable oil in a large non-stick frypan over medium-high heat. Add 4 tablespoonfuls of the mixture to the pan, pressing down to flatten slightly, and fry for 3 to 4 minutes or until golden on both sides. Drain on paper towels. Repeat until all the mixture has been used up.
  4. Meanwhile, halve, de-pit and roughly chop the avocado flesh. Mix in the chopped fresh coriander, and then add the lime juice, 1 tablespoon at a time, to taste.
  5. Serve the fritters hot or at room temperature with the avocado and coriander salsa.

Recipe adapted from Delicious magazine.

About Food Daydreaming

I follow new recipes perfectly the first couple of times and then I pull them apart and put them back together my way. My biggest pet peeve is when I follow a recipe to a tee and then it doesn't turn out the way it should... I end up growling in my kitchen and that's just not right ;)

8 responses to “Spiced Haloumi and Pea Fritters and a Tribute to Selma

  1. What a beautiful tribute to Selma, Effie. Thank you so much for all the things you have said about her. And thanks for being here. Sending hugs and kisses to you…

  2. I think you’ve said it all there: we don’t start our blogs expecting to meet amazing people, we just want to share what we do and love, then somewhere along the way we meet these other bloggers and make lovely friends 🙂 your tribute to Selma is lovely and I love the fritters xx

  3. This does look like something that Selma and you could have bonded over. It actually reminds me of one of my most favorite recipes of hers, the Romanesco fritters. I bookmarked it but so far haven’t been able to find Romanesco. I planted the seeds but something out there love them and has done a number on the little plants. I don’t think I’ll be getting Romanescom but it’s much easier to find peas. Maybe I can substitute. 🙂

    Beautifully written heartfelt tribute, Effie. Thank you so much for sharing with us. ❤

  4. Sue

    Totally my kind of dish! But more importantly, it is so wonderful to have you with us for Selma’s tribute and I know Selma would love this healthy, fresh, creative and tasty dish too.

  5. Just beautiful, your dish and your tribute to Selma. Isn’t it amazing how we can all bond with folks from so far away? Selma was like a sister to all of us in one way or another. May her spirit live on in each of us.

  6. I hear you, this community of bloggers has been so supportive and Selma was always welcoming with her kind words. Lovely tribute.

  7. A very nice tribute to Selma, and thanks so much for sharing this delicious-looking recipe!

  8. Lovely tribute and fritters!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Food Daydreaming on WordPress.com
