Vegetarian Polpettini Rolls

So the big move is happening in two days and my pantry items alone are filling up more boxes than expected…

There’s no point in re-purchasing pantry staples and delicacies that I have found in all the well-stocked delis in this area… So I’m packing my entire pantry and moving it with us…

For the last week, we’ve slowly been working our way though the myriad dumplings, chips, veggies and sauces that were in the freezer, but I have finally managed to empty it out. Mostly…

There are two icy poles and a bag of bao left.

Odd combination…

Vegetarian Polpettini Rolls

Earlier in the week, I did find a bag of forgotten vegetarian polpettini in the freezer, right next to a zip-lock baggie of rich tomato sauce. But the saucepans had already been picked. So when you can’t make spaghetti and ‘meatballs’, you make vegetarian meatball subs!

I’m darting in quickly and very late to Fiesta Friday #81 – this week co-hosted by all of us!! – to say hi and leave these lovely little vegetarian polpettini rolls for everyone before running away to pack more boxes.

So, see you on the flip side people, after I put my kitchen back together…

Vegetarian Polpettini Rolls

  • Servings: makes 4 subs
  • Print

Vegetarian Polpettini Rolls

Ingredients

  • Half a quantity of veggie balls
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 garlic clove (minced)
  • 1 tablespoon fresh thyme (chopped)
  • 1 tablespoon fresh oregano (chopped)
  • ΒΌ teaspoon red chilli flakes (optional)
  • 350g jar of tomato passata
  • 400g can crushed tomatoes
  • 2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
  • 4 crusty bread rolls
  • 100g provolone (grated, halved)
  • 2 handful of mixed salad leaves

Method

  1. To make the sauce, add the oil, garlic, thyme, oregano and chilli (if using) to a large, heavy-based frying pan and cook over medium heat for 2 to 3 minutes or until the garlic and herbs are fragrant.
  2. Add the passata and crushed tomatoes. Stir through the balsamic vinegar and season with salt to taste.
  3. Bring the sauce to a gentle simmer and add the veggie balls. Spoon sauce over the top and cook for about 3 minutes or until the sauce is hot.
  4. Preheat the grill. Cut the rolls in half and add half the cheese evenly amongst the eight pieces. Grill until the cheese has melted, 1 to 2 minutes.
  5. Top the bottom roll halves with mixed salad leaves, three warm polpettini and the rest of provolone. Sandwich on the top and serve.

About Food Daydreaming

I follow new recipes perfectly the first couple of times and then I pull them apart and put them back together my way. My biggest pet peeve is when I follow a recipe to a tee and then it doesn't turn out the way it should... I end up growling in my kitchen and that's just not right ;)

2 responses to “Vegetarian Polpettini Rolls

  1. Good luck with the move! Can’t believe you’re still feeding yourself, really well I should add, in the middle of packing and moving! I would have broken down and run to Burger King or something πŸ˜€

  2. Thanks, Miss Angie! As you know the move went well. I didn’t want to add frozen goods to the packing list as I was already packing up the entire pantry, so they had to be eaten πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Food Daydreaming on WordPress.com
