Simple Potato Salad

We have a new home. We’re in. We made it. All of our belongings made it in one piece too. The cat took five days to acclimatise to his new surroundings and now thinks he’s in charge. Again.

We have a bed. A table. The bookshelves are up but the books are still in boxes. In fact, probably a third of our stuff is still in boxes. The beautiful, enormous pantry has been built and filled but half of my kitchen items are still… somewhere…

As a result, cooking has been somewhat haphazard. Getting used to a new kitchen, a new cooktop, a new oven and finding half way through a recipe that you haven’t yet located that particular implement you need. There’s been a lot of breathing and counting to ten…

Chive Oil Potato Salad

Mum was very particular in telling me that she was taking me out for our first shopping trip… Which was her way of telling me to a list, shop for it and she will pay for it. She is just too sweet, even though I am grown ass woman and can and should pay for my own food. But more on that another time…

When I made my shopping list for our first week in our new home, I noticed very quickly that it was full of comfort foods – Pasta bake, potato salad, extra cheesy toasted cheese sandwiches with soup – I kept the potato salad to go with some crumbed fish and replaced the rest with healthier meals… I don’t think moving house agrees with me…

Chive Oil Potato Salad

Potato salad is such a versatile side dish. It can be served warm, at room temperature, and according to some, even cold. It’s lovely in winter with some fish and it’s awesome in summer as part of a picnic lunch. It can be simple yet flavourful or loaded with a whole host of ingredients that actually makes it difficult to find the actual potato. And it can be somewhat healthy if you don’t add the second dressing of mayo…

What would be ideal, seeing as I’m co-hosting Fiesta Friday #84, is to provide all you party animals with a good but basic potato salad and then a whole bunch of fixin’s to make your own little bowl of goodness.

For my second outing, I’m co-hosting this week with the fabulous Angie @The Novice Gardener, who is our patron in all food blogging endeavours, and Steffi @Ginger & Bread, whose vegetable borek is on my cooking list. (Pst, did you know Steffi has met and cooked with Nigel Slater??? I’m equally happy for her and jealous of her!!)

So come and join Angie, Steffi and myself for this week’s party, and don’t forget to link up to the fiesta. Happy FF#84 people!

Simple Potato Salad

  • Servings: Serves 4 as a side dish
  • Print

Chive Oil Potato Salad

If you increase the amount of potatoes to serve more people, don’t forget to increase all the other ingredients, especially the dressing.

Ingredients

  • 6 royal blue potatoes
  • ½ a bunch of chives (finely chopped)
  • ¼ cup olive oil
  • 3 tablespoons white wine vinegar (plus more to taste)

Add-ins:

  • Fine red onion slices softened in apple cider vinegar
  • Caramelised brown onion
  • Hard boiled eggs
  • Crispy bacon
  • ¼ to ½ a cup of mayonnaise
  • A tablespoon or two of the adobo sauce from chipotle peppers
  • Pickles of some fashion (no thank you!!)
  • Roasted garlic
  • Roasted or raw red capsicum slices
  • Scallion slices
  • Sautéed mushrooms
  • Seeded mustard
  • Shredded carrot

The list goes on, and on, and on…

Method

  1. Wash the potatoes and chop them into bite-sized, even pieces. Peel them first if you really must.
  2. Place the chopped potatoes into a pot and add enough cold water to just cover them. Season with salt and bring to a boil. Lower the heat to medium, medium-low and simmer for 12 to 20 minutes or until the potatoes are cooks but not falling apart.
  3. Meanwhile, heat the olive oil in a frying pan over a low heat. Add the finely chopped chives and stir until the chives begin to wilt. Remove the frying pan from heat and set aside to cool, stirring every now and then.
  4. Drain the cooked potatoes and immediately empty into a serving bowl. Pour the warm chive oil and vinegar over the top of the hot potatoes so that the dressing soaks into the potatoes, season with salt and gently toss to combine.
  5. Taste and add more vinegar or salt. Now that the foundation is ready you can add any fixin’s you like, including a second dressing of mayo…
  6. Serve and enjoy.

About Food Daydreaming

I follow new recipes perfectly the first couple of times and then I pull them apart and put them back together my way. My biggest pet peeve is when I follow a recipe to a tee and then it doesn't turn out the way it should... I end up growling in my kitchen and that's just not right ;)

31 responses to “Simple Potato Salad

  1. Pingback: Spelt and Rye Sourdough Loaf | Ginger&Bread

  2. I love potato salad, this looks awesome – comfort food definitely sounds in order after all that moving!

  3. You are just amazing, Effie! Moving house, hosting a party and making this delicious salad – I’m speechless! Hope all is going well for you and you can manage living out of boxes (I stopped writing what’s in them after the first 20 or so, very much to my later regret …)
    Thanks for co-hosting with me, there have been already some amazing posts!
    Ginger xx

    • Oh that would have been difficult later, not having labelled the boxes! We used coloured sticky notes so we knew where in the house everything was to be stacked for unpacking. It’s been great co-hosting FF with you, can’t wait for our features collection 🙂

  4. Sinfully Tempting

    I love potato salad, this sounds wonderful! Happy Fiesta Friday! 🙂

  5. How exciting to be in new home and kitchen. My mother used to make a potato salad very similar to this (I don’t like mayo in my salad) and bacon was always a winner. Yum!

  6. Congratulations on moving! There are so many good suggestions in the potato salad add-in list… potato salad isn’t my favourite but that list has made me quite excited at all the possibilities 🙂 Thanks for cohosting this week!

  7. Kudos to you for moving house, unpacking and yet giving up your precious time to host Fiesta Friday. Thanks so much, I think everyone at Fiesta Friday truly appreciates it. Love potato salad, and what a great one just in time for the long holiday weekend. Gorgeous fresh ingredients, and the addition of bacon always gets me first in line 🙂 The caramelized onions sounds like something I’d like to add too.

  8. Congrats on the move! 🙂 I never cope well with moving. EVER. The whole packing/unpacking is so tiring.. Kudos to you for moving, and hosting FF along with that! Such a simple yet delicious potato salad…I love me some potato any day, in any form.. 😀 And I loved your salad serveware. They add such a nice pop of color 🙂

  9. I love it, simple and always delicious. Happy FF! 🙂

  10. I’m just getting ready to make my potato salad for the holiday. It is the perfect side dish to round out a barbecue or whatever you might be doing. Happy FF and thanks so much for hosting this week – looks like you are having fun 🙂

  11. Oh I love potato salad! And I love your spoons too! 😀

  12. looks very yummy! Can’t wait to try it

  13. Pingback: Chive Oil Potato Salad - Yum Goggle

  14. Weirdly enough, I don’t actually like potatoes but I do love butternut squash, so I would totally make this recipe with that delicious squash!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Food Daydreaming on WordPress.com
