Grilled  Asparagus with Sauce Vierge

I’ve had a bit of a surreal week; it’s been insanely busy at work, but the evenings are dragging a little… there’s still so much to do, so much to put away and organise, still so many boxes to get through from our recent move.

Grilled Asparagus with Sauce Vierge

Apparently, things don’t magically find a home when you move… you have to wait for other things to happen first, have to wait for things to go up, to be built, to be put in place. And if anything goes wrong, or not to plan, well, the you have to wait even longer.

I’d like for it to all be over and settled now, please. I’d like be able to read a few chapter on the weekend and not feel guilty; I’d like to be able to spend some time on cleaning up this blog without boxes staring at me, judging me; I’d like to be able to bake in the almost warm spring breeze without having to hunt for a kitchen tool.

We’re still so busy, there hasn’t really been time for long and leisurely brunches on the weekends. So when I saw a really fresh bunch of thin asparagus, I knew we were going to have breakfast for dinner, and who doesn’t love breakfast for dinner?

Grilled Asparagus with Sauce Vierge

I’m hoping this week’s Fiesta Friday co-hosts do, so that way we can have breakfast, lunch and dinner, with some drinks thrown in for good measure, with Angie @The Novice Gardener,  Kaila @ GF Life 24/7 and Jenny @ Dragonfly Home Recipes.

Grilled Asparagus with Sauce Vierge

  • Servings: serves 2 for breakfast
  • Print

Grilled Asparagus with Sauce Vierge

Ingredients

  • 2 bunches thin asparagus (trimmed)
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • Finely grated rind of 1 lemon
  • 2 eggs (at room temperature)
  • 2 to 4 slices of grain bread (toasted)

Sauce Vierge

  • 60 ml olive oil
  • 1 golden shallot (finely diced)
  • 1 garlic clove (finely chopped)
  • 1 teaspoon coriander seeds (coarsely crushed)
  • 100g cherry tomatoes (quartered)
  • 2 tablespoons red wine vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons chervil sprigs
  • 1 tablespoon chives (finely chopped)
  • 1 tablespoon basil (finely chopped)

Method

  1. Preheat the grill or broiler. Place the trimmed asparagus on an oven tray in a single layer, drizzle with one tablespoon of oil, scatter with lemon rind, season to taste and grill until tender, turning once or twice for about 8 to 10 minutes
  2. Meanwhile, for the sauce vierge, heat the remaining oil in a saucepan over medium-high heat, add shallot, garlic and coriander seeds and stir occasionally until fragrant and tender, 1 to 2 minutes. Add tomatoes and vinegar, season to taste and keep warm. Just before serving, stir in herbs.
  3. Poach the eggs in just simmering water until cooked to your liking, 3 minutes for soft yolks, drain on absorbent paper and keep warm.
  4. Arrange the toast and asparagus on serving plates, top each with a poached egg, spoon the sauce vierge over the top and serve warm

Recipe by Emma Knowles and Alice Storey as found on Gourmet Traveller website.

About Food Daydreaming

I follow new recipes perfectly the first couple of times and then I pull them apart and put them back together my way. My biggest pet peeve is when I follow a recipe to a tee and then it doesn't turn out the way it should... I end up growling in my kitchen and that's just not right ;)

9 responses to “Grilled  Asparagus with Sauce Vierge

  1. I am always ready for breakfast for dinner, and this recipe has my name all over it. Moving is such a chore. I dread the idea, and wouldn’t be cooking during the process!

  2. I don’t think I have ever heard (until now) sauce vierge! Perfect herb sauce for any fresh vegetable 🙂

  3. I can sympathize with the chaos of moving to a new house. I remember feeling the same way when we first moved. I hope you can carve out some time to ignore the boxes for awhile. 🙂 Asparagus sounds lovely! With it almost fall here, I have not had fresh asparagus in several months, but your recipe sounds delicious and I will keep it in mind for when we get spring here!

  4. I love asparagus–this sounds like such a special way to serve it!

  5. Sauce vierge is new to me and it looks like a really versatile sauce. Thanks for sharing on FF !

  6. Ah yes, we went through a big move two years ago, and it took so long to settle in. Hopefully, things keep progressing. (We may still have one box that we just finally unpacked last week. You know, that really pesky miscellaneous box.) I love your breakfast for dinner! Asparagus is one of my favorite veggies, and this is a perfect way to serve it. Thank you so much for joining us at the fiesta this week, and I hope you had a fabulous weekend! 😀

  7. What a beautiful mix of flavors!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Food Daydreaming on WordPress.com
