Apple and Strawberry Crumble with a Chewy Oat Topping

There are just too many distractions around me at the moment. Although, I will admit, that it is kind of my own fault…

I’ve just wrapped up a huge project at work and finally got the 84-page monster off to the printer, I’m participating in The Kitchn’s Baking School, I’m still trying to find the optimum layout for my spices in my new pantry, not to mention the boxes that still need to be unpacked, and, unfortunately, I am watching a lot of TV.

Apple-Strawberry Crumble with Oat Topping

You see, I had to – yes, had to – sign up for pay TV… How else was I going to watch The Great Australian Bake Off?? But access to the food channel brings along with it a whole host of shows that I have suddenly been suckered into watching.

This has made cooking dinner very difficult and taking twice as long as it should…

I am very grateful that these are the worst of my concerns at the moment.

I will admit that I did enjoy a fun evening prepping fruit for a crumble on the coffee table whilst watching some food show.

Apple-Strawberry Crumble with Oat Topping

It that time of year again, that even if you are in a different hemisphere, pumpkin and apple goods are appearing everywhere. Or it could be that they have always been there and I’m just paying more attention to what’s around at the moment.

Whilst at the market hunting for some purple cauliflower, I found some beautiful apple cider-toasted oats, and with strawberries on sale at the next stall, an oat-topped apple and strawberry crumble was a no brainer. It’s seasonal for both my fall-happy friends on the other side of the world and for us here who are experiencing quite a fickle spring.

This worked out quite well seeing as I’m co-hosting Fiesta Friday #90 this week with Angie @The Novice Gardener and Lindy @Love in the Kitchen. Can you believe we’ve had 90 awesome fiestas? Ten to go before what I’m sure will be a huge extravaganza! So join in and share your recipes with us this week and stick around to chat with some lovely people.

Apple and Strawberry Crumble

Apple-Strawberry Crumble with Oat Topping

The amount of fruit needed for a crumble all depends on the size of the baking dish you are using. Just keep cutting fruit until the baking dish is three-quarters full, which will allow room for the crumble topping. If you fill it right to the top, bake it with an empty baking sheet underneath to catch any juices that might bubble over. The amount of fruit I used filled a 33cm x 25cm oval baking dish.

Ingredients

  • 6 apples (peeled and chopped into small, even pieces)
  • 1 punnet of strawberries (cleaned, topped and chopped into quarters)
  • 3 tablespoons lemon juice
  • ¼ cup demerara sugar (or a bit more depending on taste or the sweetness of your fruit)
  • 3 teaspoons ground cinnamon (divided)
  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • 60g all-purpose flour
  • 100g light brown sugar
  • Around 4 grates of a nutmeg seed, or to taste
  • 70g butter (melted)
  • Vanilla ice cream (to serve, optional)

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 190°C.
  2. Toss the chopped apples and strawberries together with the lemon juice and pour into the baking dish. Sprinkle with the sugar and 2 teaspoons of cinnamon, and then stir to combine. Set aside.
  3. In a separate bowl, combine the oats, flour, sugar, remaining cinnamon and nutmeg. Add in the melted butter and stir to combine. If the mixture is to dry and not clumping, add a little water to help bring the oats together into a soft clumps.
  4. Top the chopped fruit with oat crumble topping, gently spreading the mixture around as much as possible.
  5. Place the baking dish into the oven and bake for about 35 to 45 minutes, or until the oat crumble topping is golden brown – it goes from golden to brown very quickly so keep an eye on it in the last few minutes.
  6. Allow to stand for at least 5 minutes, 10 minutes is better, before serving, with or without ice cream and a teaspoon of sticky juice from the bottom of the baking dish.

About Food Daydreaming

I follow new recipes perfectly the first couple of times and then I pull them apart and put them back together my way. My biggest pet peeve is when I follow a recipe to a tee and then it doesn't turn out the way it should... I end up growling in my kitchen and that's just not right ;)

14 responses to “Apple and Strawberry Crumble with a Chewy Oat Topping

  1. What a delicious crumble Effie, perfect for this time of year. Thanks for co hosting FF 🙂

  2. Pingback: Filipino Cheese Sticks | thenotsocreativecook

  3. I love all the pumpkin, but sometimes I like a change in flavors. Your apple and strawberry combination sounds delicious, and is a flavor combination that I haven’t tried before. (Mainly because when apples are in season, we only think of autumn flavors.) The oat crumble on top is a great idea too; the chewiness sounds pretty tasty. Good luck with your project as well. Happy FF, and I hope you have a wonderful weekend! 🙂

  4. Hello my FF co-host!!! So excited about your blog and meeting you.
    I love crumbles and yours is beautiful. Going to spend a whole lot more time on your blog as soon as I finish FF detail!
    xo

  5. I really love the way we can combine different fruits and create a fantastic and delicious recipe.You have done a great job with your recipe. Thanks for co-hosting and have a good time this week 🙂

  6. This Crumble with Apple and Strawberries looks very tasty. Thank you for co-hosting this week FF! 🙂

  7. petra08

    Cider toasted oats with strawberries? It sounds absolutely irresistable and perfect to use them for an apple crumble! Happy FF and thank you for co hosting! 🙂

  8. Pingback: Buckwheat porridge with caramelized orange and figs | milkandbun

  9. I love crumbles! They are so-quickly to make, so when I’m craving for something sweet I usually make them! Never made with rhubarb thou, because it’s not often sold here and usually expensive… 🙂
    Thanks for co-hosting! 🙂

  10. I love your sensible measurements for quantity! Apple crumble or “crisp” as I call it is always a favorite. Vanilla ice cream…I have to have the ice-cream! Thanks for hosting FF and stopping by to see me~ 🙂

    • See, this is when I think that we really need a universal language for food… I thought a crisp was crumble without oats in the actual crumble topping?? I think The Kitchn has a great write-up of what they’re all called, I’ll go look for it. Thank for joining the fiesta this week!

  11. This looks gorgeous! I’m glad your work project is done. 🙂 I really have to get on and watch the Australian bake off, I’ve been told it’s more relaxed than the British version?

  12. This is such an easy and healthy snack! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Food Daydreaming on WordPress.com
